AMR Sept Banner v2

ASM Attends UN General Assembly

ASM President, Susan Sharp, Ph.D., joined global leaders at the United Nations General Assembly in New York today in a historical meeting to focus on the commitment to fight AMR.

UN General Assembly Focuses on AMR

Leaders at the UN General Assembly draft a plan for coordinated, cross-cutting efforts to improve the current state of AMR.

Superbugs are a 'Fundamental Threat'

If antibiotics were telephones, we would still be calling each other using clunky rotary dials and copper lines," Stefano Bertuzzi, CEO of ASM, told NBC News.
Become a member today!
Submit Abstracts for Biothreats 2017
Antibacterial Development Conference

Presidents of the Society (1899-present)


1899                 [William T. Sedgwick was asked to preside at the first meeting]
1900                 Sedgwick, William Thompson
1901                 William Henry Welch
1902                 Herbert William. Conn
1903                 Theobald Smith
1904                 Frederick George Novy
1905                 Edwin Oakes Jordan
1906                 Erwin Frink Smith
1907                 James Carroll
1908                 Harry Luman Russell
1909                 Joseph James Kinyoun
1910                 Veranus Alva Moore
1911                 Frederic Poole Gorham
1912                 William Hallock Park
1913                 Charles-Edward Amory Winslow
1914                 Charles Edward Marshall
1915                 David Hendricks Bergey
1916                 Thomas Jonathan Burrill
1917                 Leo Frederick Rettger
1918                 Robert Earle Buchanan
1919                 Samuel Cate Prescott
1920                 Charles Krumwiede, Jr.
1921                 Frank Charles Harrison
1922                 Lore Alford Rogers
1923                 Edwin George Hastings
1924                 Arthur Parker Hitchens
1925                 Norman MacLeod Harris
1926                 Hans Zinsser
1927                 Robert Stanley Breed
1928                 Alice Catherine Evans
1929                 Ludvig Hektoen
1930                 Stanhope Bayne-Jones
1931                 James Howard Brown
1932                 Edwin Broun Fred
1933                 William Mansfield Clark
1934                 Milton Joseph Rosenau
1935                 Karl Freidrich Meyer
1936                 Thomas Milton Rivers
1937                 James Morgan Sherman
1938                 Paul Franklin Clark
1939                 Arthur Trautwein Henrici
1940                 Charles Thom
1941                 Oswald Theodore Avery
1942                 Selman Abraham Waksman
1943                 Rebecca Craighill Lancefield
1944                 Ira Lawrence Baldwin
1945                 Stuart Mudd
1946                 James Craigie
1947                 Thomas Francis, Jr.
1948                 Harold Joel Conn
1949                 William McDowell Hammon
1950                 Barnett Cohen
1951                 Walter James Nungester
1952                 Rene Jules Dubos
1953                 Gail Monroe Dack
1954                 Cornelis Bernard van Niel
1955                 Halvor Orin Halvorson
1956                 Charles Arthur Stuart
1957                 Perry William Wislon
1958                 Harry Eagle
1959                 Philip Rarick Edwards
1960                 Charles Albert Evans
1961                 Herald Rea Cox
1962                 John Edward Blair
1963                 Robert Lyman Starkey
1964                 John Roger Porter
1965                 Orville Wyss
1966                 Riley Dee Housewright
1967                 William Bowen Sarles
1968                 Salvador Edward Luria
1969                 Dennis Wallace Watson
1970                 Edwin Michael Foster
1971                 Robert Edward Hungate
1972                 Morris Frank Shaffer
1973                 Robert George Everett Murray
1974                 Linzy Leon Campbell
1975                 Philipp Gerhardt
1976                 Helen Riaboff Whiteley
1977                 Harlyn Odell Halvorson
1978                 Aaron Frederick Rasmussen, Jr.
1979                 Edwin Herman Lennette
1980                 Willis Avery Wood
1981                 Albert Balows
1982                 Frederick Neidhardt
1983                 John Charles Sherris
1984                 Robert Pierce Williams
1985                 Rita Rossi Colwell
1986                 Moselio Schaechter
1987                 Jean E. Brenchley
1988                 Barbara H. Iglewski
1989                 Alice S. Huang
1990                 Walter R. Dowdle
1991                 Joan W. Bennett
1992                 Richard L. Crowell
1993                 John Ingraham
1994                 Gail Cassell
1995                 David Schlessinger
1996                 Carol A. Nacy
1997                 Kenneth I.  Berns
1998                 Stanley Falkow
1999                 Stuart Levy
2000                 Julian Davies
2001                 Martha Howe
2002                 Abigal Salyers
2003                 Ronald Atlas
2004                 Thomas Shenk
2005                 James M. Tiedje
2006                 Stanley R. Maloy
2007                 Diane E. Griffin
2008                 Clifford W. Houston
2009                 Alison D. O'Brien
2010                 Roberto Kolter
2011                 Bonnie L. Bassler
2012                 David C. Hooper
2013                 Jeffery F. Miller
2014                 Jeffery F. Miller (note - Jo Handelsman served as president the first two months of the 2014 term, but then had to step down from the position due to her appointment as Associate Director for Science in the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy)
2015                 Timothy Donohue
2016                 Lynn W. Enquist
2017                 Susan E. Sharp