Funding Alert: Contact Congress for Emergency Funding for Zika

Please contact Congress to urge the immediate passage of a bipartisan emergency supplemental bill for Zika.
Take Action

ASM Acts to Counter Zika Virus Outbreak

The emerging threat of Zika virus infection.

ASM Urges Action to Combat Zika Emergency

Current events linked to the Zika virus make aggressive public health actions and funding to combat this emerging infectious disease more crucial than ever.
Become a member today!
Submit Abstracts for Biothreats 2017
Antibacterial Development Conference

2014 bioMérieux Sonnenwirth Award for Leadership in Clinical Microbiology Laureate



The 2014 bioMérieux Sonnenwirth Award for Leadership in Clinical Microbiology has been presented to Davise Larone, Ph.D., Weill Cornell Medical College, New York City, New York, for her outstanding and original contributions to clinical mycology, as well as her service to the field. According to Thomas Walsh, Weill Cornell University Medical Center, “Davise Larone ranks among the premier clinical microbiologists and medical mycologists of our time. Her landmark contributions to education and training in diagnostic medical mycology resonate worldwide.”

Larone received her Ph.D. in Biology/Microbiology from New York University. Most recently, she worked for eleven years as Chief of the Clinical Microbiology Laboratory Service at Weill Cornell Medical Center, NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital. Newly awarded Professor Emerita at Weill Cornell, her research has concentrated on the development and improvement of rapid laboratory methods for detection and identification of infectious agents.

Because of her numerous publications, lectures, and full-day workshops on mycology, Larone has become known as a leader in the field. Her most recognized publication is Medically Important Fungi, a Guide to Identification (now in its 5th edition), which is used globally in mycology laboratories.

Through her service, Larone has significantly helped advance the field of mycology. Currently a Diplomate of the American Board of Medical Microbiology (ABMM) and a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology, she has served on numerous ABMM committees, journal editorial boards, and two terms as President of the Medical Mycology Society of New York.