Maryland Branch ASM (Region 2)


  • Region I (Connecticut Valley, Eastern New York, New York City, and Northeast Branches) 
  • Region II (Eastern Pennsylvania, Maryland, Theobald Smith Society (New Jersey), Virginia, and Washington, DC Branches)
  • Region III (Allegheny, Indiana, Kentucky-Tennessee, Michigan, Ohio, and Western New York Branches)
  • Region IV (Florida, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, South Central, and Southeastern Branches)
  • Region V (Alaska, Illinois, Missouri, North Central, and Northwest Branches)
  • Region VI (Missouri Valley, Rio Grande, Rocky Mountain, and Texas Branches)
  • Region VII (Arizona/Southern Nevada, Hawaii, Intermountain, Northern California, and Southern California Branches)


2013-2014 Officers


President (term expires June 30, 2014):

Wolf Pecher, Ph.D.

University of Baltimore

1420 N. Charles Street

Baltimore, MD 21201

Phone: 410-837-6720



President-Elect(term expires June 30, 2014):

James B. Kaper

Department of Microbiology & Immunology

University of Maryland School of Medicine

685 W. Baltimore Street, Room 380

Baltimore, MD 21201

Phone: 410-706-2344

Fax:     410-706-6970



Secretary(term expires June 30, 2014):

Paulette Hammond

401 Westshire Road

Baltimore, MD 21229

Phone: 443-418-5479

Fax:     410-747-3811



Treasurer (term expires June 30, 2014):

Bradd J. Haley, Ph.D.

Environmental Microbial and Food Safety Laboratory

United States Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Services

Building 173, BARC-East

10300 Baltimore Avenue

Beltsville, MD  20705 

Phone: 610-952-0418

Email: Bradd.Haley@ARS.USDA.GOV


Councilor (term expires June 30, 2015):

Silvia A. Piñeiro, Ph.D.

US Food and Drug Administration

7500 Standish Place

Rockville, MD 20855

Phone: 240-276-8227

Fax:     240-276-8118



Alternate Councilor (term expires June 30, 2015):

James Hong

1901 Branston Road

Baltimore, MD 21228

Phone: 410-536-1436

Fax:     410-737-1189