AMR Sept Banner

ASM Attends UN General Assembly

ASM President, Susan Sharp, Ph.D., joined global leaders at the United Nations General Assembly in New York today in a historical meeting to focus on the commitment to fight AMR.

UN General Assembly Focuses on AMR

Leaders at the UN General Assembly draft a plan for coordinated, cross-cutting efforts to improve the current state of AMR.

Superbugs are a 'Fundamental Threat'

If antibiotics were telephones, we would still be calling each other using clunky rotary dials and copper lines," Stefano Bertuzzi, CEO of ASM, told NBC News.
Become a member today!
Submit Abstracts for Biothreats 2017
Antibacterial Development Conference

ASM Founders Distinguished Service Award

Honors a member of the ASM for outstanding contributions and commitment to the ASM as a volunteer at the national level.

Selection is based on commitment to furthering the goals of the ASM, ability to inspire commitment from others, and significance of contributions to the membership of ASM and its various audiences. The nominee must be an ASM member in good standing who has served in a volunteer capacity for ASM at the national level (e.g., as a member of committees or editorial boards or as a workshop leader) for a minimum of five years, and has not held office as ASM President, Secretary, Treasurer, or Chair of a CPC Board or the American Academy of Microbiology.


May 14th, 2016. 

Nominations will be considered without updating for three years. Self-nominations and more than one nomination per nominee will not be accepted. Only one nominating form and two supporting forms are accepted per nomination. The two supporters must be persons other than the nominator who are familiar with the nominee's qualifications and accomplishments. Only one of the three individuals involved in the nomination may be employed at the nominee's institution. The nominator and supporters must not share employers. Nominations must consist of the following:

 ASM awards are granted at the discretion of award selection committees and may not be awarded every year. 

Sponsor: ASM