All ASM Awards

Click on each award to view nominating instructions and deadlines.  Or, view by category: researcheducation, service, or students & young investigators.


Congratulations to the 2015 Award Laureates!


Nominations for the 2017 awards are now closed. Nomination instructions for the next awards cycle will be posted in January 2017. If you have any questions about awards nominations, please feel free to email

For a list of the 2016 ASM Award laureates that were honored at ASM Microbe in June 2016, click here


ASM Award in Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology
Honors a distinguished scientist in the field of clinical or diagnostic immunology.

ASM Lifetime Achievement Award (sponsored by AbbVie)
ASM's premier award for sustained contributions to the microbiological sciences.

ASM Founders Distinguished Service Award
Recognizes a member of ASM for outstanding contributions to the Society in a volunteer capacity at the national level. 

ASM Graduate Microbiology Teaching Award
Honors an individual for exemplary teaching of microbiology and mentoring of students at the graduate and postgraduate levels (e.g., graduate school, medical school, or other health professional schools) and for encouraging students to subsequent achievement. 

BD Award for Research in Clinical Microbiology
Honors a distinguished clinical microbiologist for outstanding research accomplishments leading to or forming the foundation for important applications in clinical microbiology. 

bioMérieux Sonnenwirth Award for Leadership in Clinical Microbiology
Recognizes a distinguished microbiologist for the promotion of innovation in clinical laboratory science, dedication to ASM, and the advancement of clinical microbiology as a profession.

Carski Foundation Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award
Recognizes a mature individual for distinguished teaching of microbiology to undergraduate (prebaccalaureate) students and for encouraging them to subsequent achievement. 

ICAAC Antimicrobial Research Award
ASM's premier award in antimicrobial research. 

DuPont Industrial Bioscience Award in Applied and Environmental Microbiology
Recognizes distinguished achievement in research and development in applied (non-clinical) and environmental microbiology.

Eli Lilly and Company-Elanco Research Award
ASM's oldest and most prestigious prize, it rewards fundamental research of unusual merit in microbiology or immunology by an individual who has not reached his/her 45th birthday. 

EMD Millipore Alice C. Evans Award
Honors a member of ASM for major contributions toward the full participation and advancement of women in microbiology.

Hologic Joseph Public Health Award
Honors a distinguished microbiologist who has exhibited exemplary leadership and service in the field of public health.

Hardy Diagnostics ABMM/ABMLI Professional Recognition Award
Recognizes an ABMM or ABMLI Diplomate for outstanding contributions to the professional recognition of clinical microbiologists and/or immunologists.

Maurice Hilleman/Merck Award 
ASM’s premier award for major contributions to pathogenesis, vaccine discovery, vaccine development, and/or control of vaccine-preventable diseases.

William A. Hinton Research Training Award
Honors outstanding contributions toward fostering the research training of underrepresented minorities in microbiology.

ICAAC Young Investigator Awards
Recognize and reward early career scientists for research excellence and potential in microbiology and infectious diseases.

Merck Irving S. Sigal Memorial Awards 
Recognize and award excellence in basic research in medical microbiology and infectious diseases.

Promega Biotechnology Research Award
Honors outstanding contributions to the application of biotechnology through fundamental microbiological research and development. 

Raymond W. Sarber Awards
Recognize students at the undergraduate and predoctoral levels for research excellence and potential.

Moselio Schaechter Distinguished Service Award 
This award honors an ASM member who has shown exemplary leadership and commitment towards the substantial furthering of the profession of microbiology in research, education or technology in the developing world.

Scherago-Rubin Award
Recognizes an outstanding, bench-level clinical microbiologist. 

Beckman-Coulter Young Investigator Award
Recognizes research excellence and potential to further the educational or research objectives of an outstanding young clinical scientist.

USFCC/J. Roger Porter Award
Recognizes outstanding efforts by a scientist who has demonstrated the importance of microbial biodiversity through sustained curatorial or stewardship activities for a major resource used by the scientific community. 

D.C. White Research and Mentoring Award
Recognizes distinguished accomplishments in interdisciplinary research and mentoring in microbiology.