Service Awards

Click on each award to view nominating instructions and deadlines.

ASM Distinguished Public Leadership Award
Recognizes an individual whose distinguished career has been marked with outstanding contributions to the life sciences, particularly someone who has demonstrated contributions to public policy issues related to infectious diseases, public health, biotechnology or other areas of the microbiological sciences. 

ASM Founders Distinguished Service Award
Recognizes a member of ASM for outstanding contributions to the Society in a volunteer capacity at the national level. 

ASM Public Communications Award
This award is given to a print or broadcast journalist for news item that increases public awareness, knowledge and understanding of microbiology. 

bioMérieux Sonnenwirth Award for Leadership in Clinical Microbiology
Recognizes a distinguished microbiologist for the promotion of innovation in clinical laboratory science, dedication to ASM, and the advancement of clinical microbiology as a profession. 

GlaxoSmithKline International Member of the Year Award
Honors a distinguished microbiologist who exhibited exemplary leadership in the international microbiological community. 

EMD Millipore Alice C. Evans Award
Honors a member of ASM for major contributions toward the full participation and advancement of women in microbiology. The award is presented at the ASM General Meeting. 

Hardy Diagnostics ABMM/ABMLI Professional Recognition Award
Recognizes an ABMM or ABMLI Diplomate for outstanding contributions to the professional recognition of clinical microbiologists and/or immunologists.

Moselio Schaechter Distinguished Service Award 
This award honors an ASM member who has shown exemplary leadership and commitment towards the substantial furthering of the profession of microbiology in research, education or technology in the developing world.

back to all awards