Division Officer Contact Information

Divisional Groups

Divisional Groups

Divisions in Group

Divisional Group Representative 

I - Diagnostic Microbiology and Epidemiology

 C, F, L, V, Y, AA

Barbara Robinson-Dunn
William Beaumont/Oakland Univ. School of Medicine
Royal Oak, MI
brobinson-dunn@beaumont.edu

II - Pathogenesis and Host Response Mechanisms

 A, B, D, E, G, U, Z

Peggy Cotter
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
pcotter@med.unc.edu  

III - General and Applied Microbiology

 I, N, O, P, Q, R, W

Russell Hill
University of Maryland
Baltimore, MD
hill@umces.edu 

IV - Molecular Microbiology, Physiology and Virology

 H, J, K, M, S, T, X

Gail E. Christie
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA
christie@hsc.vcu.edu

 

 Divisions (Officer terms are from July 1, 2015 - June 30, 2016)

Division Chair Chair-Elect Councilor
A - Antimicrobial Chemotherapy Gerry Wright
McMaster University
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
wrightge@mcmaster.ca
Jared A. Silverman
Cubist Pharmaceuticals Inc.
Lexington, MA
jared.silverman@cubist.com
Joyce Sutcliffe
Tetraphase Pharmaceuticals
Watertown, MA
jsutcliffe@tphase.com
B - Microbial Pathogens H. (Hank) Steven Seifert
Northwestern University
Chicago, IL
h-seifert@northwestern.edu
Denise Monack
Stanford University School of Medicine
Stanford, CA
dmonack@stanford.edu
Renee M. Tsolis
University of California
Davis, CA
rmtsolis@ucdavis.edu
C - Clinical Microbiology Eileen Burd
Emory University Hospital
Atlanta, GA 
eburd@emory.edu  
Karen C. Carroll
The John Hopkins Hospital
Baltimore, MD
kcarrol7@jhmi.edu
David W. Craft
Penn State Hershey Medical Center
Hershey, PA
dcraft1@hmc.psu.edu  
D - Microbe-Host Interactions Vanessa Sperandio
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, TX
vanessa.sperandio@utsouthwestern.edu
Eric P. Skaar
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN
eric.skaar@vanderbilt.edu
Nina Salama
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Seattle, WA
nsalama@fhcrc.org
E - Immunology John MacMicking
Boyer Center for Molecular Medicine
New Haven, CT
john.macmicking@yale.edu  
Thirumala-Devi Kanneganti
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
Memphis, TN
thirumala-devi.kanneganti@stjude.org  

Kate Fitzgerald
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Worchester, MA
kate.fitzgerald@umassmed.edu
F - Medical Mycology Marta Feldmesser
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Bronx, NY
marta.feldmesser@einstein.yu.edu
Deborah A. Hogan
Dartmouth University School of Medicine
Hanover, NH
dhogan@dartmouth.edu
Aaron Mitchell
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA
apm1@cmu.edu
G - Mycoplasmology Li Xiao
University of Alabama in Birmingham
Birmingham, AL
lixiao@uab.edu
Christopher McGowin
LSU Health Sciences Center
New Orleans, LA
cmcgow@lsuhsc.edu
Meghan A. May
Towson University
Towson, MD
mmay3@une.edu
H - Genetics and Molecular Biology Susan Lovett
Brandeis University
Waltham, MA
lovett@brandeis.edu   
Jade Wang
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison, WI
wang@bact.wisc.edu 
Christopher S. Hayes
MCDB
Santa Barbara, CA
chayes@lifesci.ucsb.edu
I - General Microbiology Larry Halverson
Iowa State University
Ames, IA
larryh@iastate.edu
Thomas M. Schmidt
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
schmidti@umich.edu
Karen Visick
Loyola University Medical Center
Maywood, IL
kvisick@lumc.edu
J - Cell and Structural Biology Elizabeth Wright
Emory University
Atlanta, GA
erwrigh@emory.edu   
Erin Goley
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD
egoley1@jhmi.edu
Peter Chien
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA
pchien@biochem.umass.edu   
K - Microbial Physiology and Metabolism Anne K. Dunn
University of Oklahoma
Norman, OK
akdunn@ou.edu
Julie L. Zilles
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Urbana, IL
jlz@alum.mit.edu
Jeffrey A. Gralnick
University of Minnesota
Saint Paul, MN
gralnick@umn.edu
L - Healthcare Epidemiology Keith Kaye
Detroit Medical Center
Detroit, MI
kkaye@dmc.org
Jesse Jacob
Emory University
Atlanta, GA
jtjacob@emory.edu  
Daniel J. Morgan
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD
dmorgan@epi.umaryland.edu  
M - Bacteriophage Mya Breitbart
University of South Florida
Saint Petersburg, FL
mya@usf.edu
Gerald Koudelka
University at Buffalo, SUNY
Buffalo, NY
koudelka@acsu.buffalo.edu
Mark Young
Montana State University
Bozeman, MT
myoung@montana.edu
N - Microbial Ecology Barbara Campbell
Clemson University
Clemson, SC
bcampb7@clemson.edu
Dionysios A. Antonopoulos
Institute for Genomics and Systems Biology
Argonne, IL 
dion@anl.gov
Robert Sanford
University of Illinois
Urbana, IL
rsanford@illinois.edu
O - Fermentation and Biotechnology Aindrila Mukhopadhyay
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratories
Berkeley, CA
amukhopadhyay@lbl.gov
 
Daniel K. Y. Solaiman
USDA/ARS/ERRC
Wyndmoor, PA
dan.solaiman@ars.usda.gov
Steven D. Brown
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Oak Ridge, TN
brownsd@ornl.gov
P - Food Microbiology Edward G. Dudley
Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA
egd100@psu.edu
 
Rebecca Bell
FDA-Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
College Park, MD
rebecca.bell@fda.hhs.gov
Omar A. Oyarzabal
University of Vermont
Berlin, VT
oaoyarzabal@gmail.com
Q - Environmental and General Applied Microbiology Michael Sadowsky
University of Minnesota
St. Paul, MN
sadowsky@umn.edu
Sandra L. McLellan
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Milwaukee, WI
mclellan@uwm.edu

Chuanwu Xi
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
cxi@umich.edu
R - Evolutionary and Genomic Microbiology John McCutcheon
University of Montana
Missoula, MT
john.mccutcheon@umontana.edu
Morgan Langille
Dalhousie University
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
morgan.g.i.langille@dal.ca
Tim Cooper
University of Houston
Houston, TX
tfcooper@uh.edu
S - DNA Viruses Joel Baines
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY
jdb11@cornell.edu
Richard Longnecker
Northwestern Medical School
Chicago, IL
r-longnecker@northwestern.edu
Alison McBride
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD
amcbride@nih.gov
T - RNA Viruses Kathleen Boris-Lawrie
The Ohio State University
Columbus, OH
boris-lawrie.1@osu.edu
John Parker
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY
jsp7@cornell.edu
Erica Ollmann Saphire
The Scripps Research Institute
La Jolla, CA
erica@scripps.edu
U - Mycobacteriology Andrea Cooper
Trudeau Institute
Saranac Lake, NY
acooper@trudeauinstitute.org
Christina Stallings
Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis, MO
stallings@borcim.wustl.edu
Kathleen McDonough
David Axelrod Institute
Albany, NY
kathleen.mcdonough@wadsworth.org 
V - Clinical and Molecular Diagnostic Immunology Jon Heinrichs
Merck Research Labs
West Point, PA
jon.heinrichs94@verizon.net
Daniel Sikkema
GlaxoSmithKline
King of Prussia, PA
dan.x.sikkema@gsk.com
Sandra Steiner
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Atlanta, GA
ssteiner@cdc.gov
W - Microbiology Education Lee E. Hughes
University of North Texas
Denton, TX
lhughes@unt.edu
Rebecca (Becky) L. Buxton
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
rebecca.buxton@path.utah.edu
Jennifer Herzog
Herkimer County Community College
Herkimer, NY
herzogja@herkimer.edu  
X - Molecular, Cellular and General Biology of Eukaryotes Judith Berman
Tel Aviv University
Rawat Aviv, Israel
jberman@post.tau.ac.il
Lorraine Pillus
University of California
San Diego, CA
lpillus@ucsd.edu
(William) Scott Moye-Rowley
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA
scott-moye-rowley@uiowa.edu
Y -Public Health Kirsten St. George
New York State Department of Health
Albany, NY
kxs16@health.state.ny.us
Lixia Liu
Indiana State Department of Health Laboratories
Indianapolis, IN
liu_lixia@hotmail.com
Susanne Zanto Norris
Montana Public Health Laboratory
Helena, MT
szanto@mt.gov
Z - Animal Health Microbiology Tracy Nicholson
ARS, USDA
Ames, IA
tracy.nicholson@ars.usda.gov  
Jun Lin
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN
jlin6@utk.edu
Richard Isaacson
University of Minnesota
Saint Paul, MN
isaac015@umn.edu
AA - Free-Living, Symbiotic and Parasitic Protists Bobbi Pritt
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN
pritt.bobbi@mayo.edu
Audrey Odom
Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis, MO
arodom@gmail.com
Marc-Jan Gubbels
Boston College
Chestnut Hill, MA
gubbelsj@bc.edu

TPL_asm2013_SEARCH