Congress Passes Zika Funding Bill

Congress passed and President Obama signed a 10-week continuing resolution, which includes $1.1 billion for Zika virus research.

ASM Acts to Counter Zika Virus Outbreak

The emerging threat of Zika virus infection.

ASM Urges Action to Combat Zika Emergency

Current events linked to the Zika virus make aggressive public health actions and funding to combat this emerging infectious disease more crucial than ever.
Become a member today!
Submit Abstracts for Biothreats 2017
Antibacterial Development Conference

Branch Organization Committee


The Branch Organization Committee serves as a formal liaison between the national ASM and the 35 Branches and 107 Student Chapters of the Society.  This Committee provides support highlighting programming and services available to the membership of ASM.  The Branches and Student Chapters are subdivided into several regions by geography where they are served by Regional Planning Coordinators and have the opportunity to apply for funds specifically intended to support the core missions of the Branches, Student Chapters and ASM.

Michael Schmidt, Ph.D., Chair (’17)
Medical University of South Carolina            
173 Ashley Avenue                      
PO Box 250504                      
Charleston, SC  29425-0504      
Phone: (843) 792-9532
Fax: (843) 792-2464    
E-mail: schmidtm@musc.edu
Region I: Regional Planning Coordinator –
Carol Lendh Finn (’18)
46 Hillcrest Avenue
Brockton, MA 02301
Phone: (508) 272-4957
E-mail:  clfinn@comcast.net

Region II: Regional Planning Coordinator –
Linda C. Beck, Ph.D. (’16)
CBR Defense Concepts & Experimentation Branch
Naval Surface Warfare Center – Dahlgren Division
6149 Welsh Road
Dahlgren, VA  22448
Phone:  (540) 653-6465
E-mail: Linda.beck@navy.mil
Region III: Regional Planning Coordinator –
Kim R. Finer, Ph.D. (’17)
Department of Biological Sciences
Kent State University at Stark
6000 Frank Avenue NW
North Canton, OH  44720
Phone: (330) 244-3398
Fax: (330) 494-6121
E-mail:    kfiner@kent.edu

Region IV: Regional Planning Coordinator –

Donald J. McGarey, Ph.D. ('17)
Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology
Kennesaw State University
Room 510 Science Building
370 Paulding Avenue
Kennesaw, GA  30144-5591
Phone: (470) 578-6668
E-mail: dmcgarey@kennesaw.edu
Region V: Regional Planning Coordinator –
Volker Brözel (’16)
Biology and Microbiology Department
South Dakota State University
SDS 228, Box 2104A
Brookings, SD  57007
Phone: (605) 688-6141
Fax: (605) 688-6677
E-mail: volker.brozel@sdstate.edu

Region VI: Regional Planning Coordinator –
Robert J. C. McLean, Ph.D. (’16)          
Texas State University             
Department of Biology, 364 Science  
601 University Drive          
San Marcos, TX  78666
Phone: (512) 245-3365
Fax: (512) 245-8713
E-mail:    mclean@txstate.edu

Region VII: Regional Planning Coordinator –
Terry Else, Ph.D. (’16)
College of Osteopathic Medicine
Touro University
874 American Pacific Drive
Henderson, NV  89014
Phone: (702) 777-1802
Fax: (702) 856-3346
E-mail:    terry.else@tun.touro.edu

Ex officio Members:

Liaison Between Student Membership Committee and Branch Organization Committee –
Michael Sadowsky, Ph.D. (’16)
University of Minnesota Soil Water & Climates
1991 Upper Buford Circle    
Mailstop 439 Borlaug Hall   
Saint Paul, MN  55108
Phone: (612) 624-2706
Fax:    (612) 625-6725
E-mail:     sadowsky@umn.edu 


Chair, Membership Board –
Victor J. Di Rita, Ph.D. (’15)
Rudolph Hugh Professor & Chair
Department of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
Michigan State University
567 Wilson Road, 2215 BPS
East Lansing, MI 48824
Phone:    (517) 884-5292
E-mail:     diritavi@msu.edu


Director, Membership Services
John Meyers
ASM Headquarters
1725 N Street, NW
Washington, DC  20036
Phone: (202) 942-9253
Fax:   (202) 942-9346
E-mail:   jmeyers@asmusa.org

ASM Staff Contact:

Staff, Membership Services
Anne Dempsey
ASM Headquarters
1725 N Street, NW
Washington, DC  20036
Phone: (202) 942-9253
Fax:   (202) 942-9346
E-mail:  adempsey@asmusa.org