Funding Alert: Contact Congress for Emergency Funding for Zika

Please contact Congress to urge the immediate passage of a bipartisan emergency supplemental bill for Zika.
Take Action

ASM Acts to Counter Zika Virus Outbreak

The emerging threat of Zika virus infection.

ASM Urges Action to Combat Zika Emergency

Current events linked to the Zika virus make aggressive public health actions and funding to combat this emerging infectious disease more crucial than ever.
Become a member today!
Submit Abstracts for Biothreats 2017
Antibacterial Development Conference

Student Membership Committee

The Student Membership Committee (SMC) works to increase both domestic and international student membership and to foster a lifetime affiliation with the American Society for Microbiology. The mission of the SMC is to attract and retain student members and to serve as a major resource promoting access to the benefits of student membership in ASM. Finally, the SMC is an advocate for the issues and concerns of student members of ASM.


Wade Bell, Ph.D. ('15), Chair
Professor of Biology
Virginia Military Institute
203 Maury Brooke Hall
Lexington, VA  24450-2802
Phone:  (540) 464-7432  Fax:  (540) 464-7761
Email:  bellwe@vmi.edu

Gregory W. Buck, Ph.D. (’15)
Associate Professor of Biology
Department of Life Sciences (LSCI)
Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
CS 251,  Unit 5802
6300 Ocean Drive
Corpus Christi, TX 78412-5802
Phone: (361) 825-3717   Fax: (361) 825-2135
Email: Gregory.Buck@tamucc.edu

Catherine Loc-Carrillo, PhD (’15)
Research Instructor & Bacteriophage Lab Manager
University of Utah
Department of Orthopaedics & VA SLC Health Care System
Bone & Joint Research Lab. (151F)
500 Foothill Drive, 151F
Salt Lake City, UT 84148
Office: (801) 582-1565 x4616  Fax: (801) 584-2533
Mobile: (801) 574-0088
Email: C.Loc.Carrillo@hsc.utah.edu


Dr. Jose R. Perez-Jimenez ('15)
Universidad del Turabo

Intredisciplinary Research Ins

PO Box 3030

Gurabo, PR  00778

Email:  ut_jperezjm@suagm.edu

Dr. Mamta Rawat ('15)
Department of Biology
College of Science and Mathematics
California State University-Fresno
2555 E. Ramon Ave., M/S SB73
Fresno, CA 93740-8034
Lab Tel: (559) 278-8374
Office Tel: (559) 278-2003 Fax: (559) 278-3963
Email: mrawat@csufresno.edu  


Dr. Mike Sadowsky ('16)

Department of Soil, Water and Climate

University of Minnesota

439 Borlaug Hall

1991 Upper Buford Circle

Saint Paul, MN 55108

Office Tel: (612) 624-2706 Fax: (612)625-2208

Email: sadowsky@umn.edu


Ex Officio Members

Victor J. DiRita, Ph.D. (’15)
University of Michigan
5641 Medical Sciences II
1150 Catherine Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48103

E-mail:  vdirita@umich.edu


John Meyers
Director, Membership Services
ASM Headquarters
1752 N Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
(202) 942-9253 fax (202) 942-9346
E-mail:  jmeyers@asmusa.org