AMR Sept Banner v2

ASM Attends UN General Assembly

ASM President, Susan Sharp, Ph.D., joined global leaders at the United Nations General Assembly in New York today in a historical meeting to focus on the commitment to fight AMR.

UN General Assembly Focuses on AMR

Leaders at the UN General Assembly draft a plan for coordinated, cross-cutting efforts to improve the current state of AMR.

Superbugs are a 'Fundamental Threat'

If antibiotics were telephones, we would still be calling each other using clunky rotary dials and copper lines," Stefano Bertuzzi, CEO of ASM, told NBC News.
Become a member today!
Submit Abstracts for Biothreats 2017
Antibacterial Development Conference

2014 Carski Foundation Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award Laureate


CARSKI Suchman

Erica Suchman, Ph.D., Colorado State University, Fort Collins, has been honored with the 2014 Carski Foundation Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award. As a professor, Suchman has shown tremendous dedication to her students and the community. Nominator Spencer Benson, University of Maryland, describes her as “a world class researcher and educator who has made major contributions to improving microbiology education through her publications, leadership, and extensive contributions to American Society for Microbiology (ASM).”

Suchman received her Ph.D. in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry from the University of California, Irvine in 1994. Currently a Professor in the Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Pathology, at Colorado State University (CSU), she researches the effectiveness of active learning strategies in large lecture courses. In addition, she is developing courses introducing freshmen to authentic research experiences and a course teaching graduate students how to mentor these students through these experiences. She has served as Chair of the Committee on Technology Enhanced Education and Editor-in-Chief of the ASM’s peer reviewed education resource, MicrobeLibrary, for 9 years, and is a member of the International Education committee and Education Board of ASM. In 2010, she was named as a CSU Distinguished Teaching Scholar; this prestigious distinction is a lifetime appointment held by only 12 faculty members at a time. She also serves as the CSU Master Teacher Initiative Coordinator for the College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.





Back to the Carski Foundation Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award