The ASM Conference for Undergraduate Educators (ASMCUE) is driven by, for and with the community! Microbiology and biology educators gather to learn best practices and classroom strategies, hear biology education research updates, and meet new colleagues who teach the same classes. Join us and come learn from your peers and network with like-minded educators. 

Plan now to contribute to ASMCUE by submitting a proposal for a concurrent education session, workshop, education research poster, short tips & tools talk ("microbrew"), or dissemination station! View the 2019 program for a glimpse of what's in store. 

Mark your calendar to join us! 2020 ASMCUE will be held July 9–12, 2020, in Bellevue, Washington. 

New for 2020: Test-drive and get feedback on active learning technique in the Activity Test Kitchen – a new and fun way to network with other attendees.


ASM Statement on COVID-19

March 27, 2020 – As the ASM Conference for Undergraduate Educators (ASMCUE) approaches, we are closely monitoring guidance regarding COVID-19 on both our meeting and travel. As of today, our plan is to hold the meeting as scheduled on July 9–12, 2020, in Bellevue, Washington. This is a fluid situation, and we will continue to update you as additional information is available.

For those who have flexibility and wish to register at this time, ASM will extend Early Bird Registration through May 15, 2020, and will waive all registration cancellation fees through Tuesday, June 9, 2020. Refunds will be processed beginning 30 days after the meeting dates.

Full Statement ASM Resources  

Important Dates

Workshops Deadline: Closed
Session Proposals: Closed
Travel Awards Deadline: April 15, 2020, 11:59 p.m. PT
Microbrew Deadline: April 15, 2020, 11:59 p.m. PT 
Dissemination Station Deadline: May 15, 2020, 11:59 p.m. PT 
Early Bird Registration Deadline: May 15, 2020, 11:59 p.m. PT
Late Breaking Poster Abstracts: Open Now through May 31, 2020 
Discount Registration Deadline: June 1, 2020, 11:59 PM PT
Last Chance Registration Deadline: July 1, 2020, 11:59 PM PT
There will be no onsite registration. All attendees must register by July 1, 2020, 11:59 p.m. PT

Questions? Contact us at

About Bellevue

Bellevue, Washington, is on Seattle's Eastside, just across scenic Lake Washington. The venue, Hyatt Regency Bellevue, is in the downtown Bellevue area, 9 miles from Seattle, and within walking distance to many restaurants, parks and shopping. There are plenty of attractions sure to enterain biologists in this large metropolitian area, including microbreweries, wineries, and nature activities in the neighboring mountains, lakes and forests. 

Explore Bellevue

Program Committee

Dr. Nancy Boury, Chair
Iowa State University, Ames, IA

Dr. John Butcher, Vice-Chair
University of Maryland, College Park, MD

Dr. Stefanie Iverson Cabral*
University of Washington, Bothell
*Local Committee Member



Dr. Brian Gentry, Poster Review Chair
Drake University, West Des Moines, IA

Dr. Jordan Moberg-Parker, Microbrew Review Chair
University of California, Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA

Dr. Sandra Porter*
Shoreline Community College
NSF InnovATEBIO National ATE Center
*Local Committee Member


Dr. Amy Siegesmund, Chair, Subcommittee on Undergraduate Education
Pacific Lutheran University, Seattle, WA

Dr. Rebecca Rashid Achterman*
Bastyr University
*Local Committee Member