The Becton Dickinson and Company Award in Clinical Microbiology
Sponsored by BD Diagnosic Systems

Purpose: To honor a distinguished microbiologist identified with clinical microbiology. The award recipient serves as the ASM Division C Divisional Lecturer, delivering the annual Clinical Microbiology Division Lecture at the ASM General Meeting  
Eligibility: Outstanding research accomplishments, clinical or nonclinical, leading to or forming the foundation for important applications in clinical microbiology. 
Award: The award consists of a $2,000 cash prize, a commemorative piece, and travel expenses to the presentation ceremonies at the ASM General Meeting. 
Nominations:  All nomination materials must be submitted electronically.
Nominations must be received by October 1. Nominations will be considered without updating for three years. Self-nominations will not be accepted. Nominations must consist of the following:
  • Letter of Nomination. Describe the nominee's research accomplishments and how they form the foundation for important applications in clinical microbiology. Include a list of the nominee's ten most relevant publications to the award.
  • Curriculum vitae. inclluding a list of publications.
  • Two letters of support. Two letters of support must come from persons, other than the nominator, who are familiar with the nominee's qualifications and accomplishments.
How to Submit Nominations:
  • Email the letter of nomination.
  • Email nominee's CV.
  • Ask two supporters to email their letters.
  • Email all materials to

Nomination materials will not be returned.

Recent Recipients of the Award:
2007 Gary W. Procop
2006 Franklin R. Cockerill, III
2005 Lance R. Peterson

Melvin Weinstein

2003 Clyde Thornsberry
For Award Winners from previous years, please access the American Academy for Microbiology web pages.

[ASM Home] [Division C Home] [Top of Page] [Award Page]
Send comments to CPWebmaster
Copyright (c) 1997 by American Society for Microbiology