bioMérieux Sonnenwirth Award for Leadership in Clinical Microbiology
Sponsored by bioMerieux Inc.

Purpose:  To honor a distinguished microbiologist who has exhibited exemplary leadership in clinical microbiology. The recipient will be recognized for promotion of innovation in clinical laboratory science, for high dedication and commitment to the American Society for Microbiology (ASM), and to the advancement of clinical microbiology as a profession. The award was established in memory of Alexander Sonnenwirth, Ph.D., who personified these characteristics. The award recipients delivers the Sonnenwirth Award Lecture at the ASM General Meeting. 
Eligibility: The nominee must be a microbiologist identified with clinical microbiology. 
Award: A $2,000 cash prize, a framed certificate, and domestic airfare to the presentation ceremonies at the ASM General Meeting. 
Nominations: All nomination materials must be submitted electronically.
Nominations must be received by October 1. Nominations will be considered without updating for three years. Self-nominations will not be accepted. Nominations must consist of the following:
  • Letter of Nomination. Describe the nominee's innovation in clinical laboratory science, dedication to ASM, and the advancement of clinical microbiology as a profession.
  • Curriculum vitae. including a list of nominee's publications.
  • Two letters of support. Two letters of support must come from persons, other than the nominator, who are familiar with the nominee's qualifications and accomplishments.
How to Submit Nominations
  • Email the letter of nomination.
  • Email nominee's CV.
  • Ask two supporters to email their letters.
  • Email all materials to Nomination materials will not be returned.

Recent Recipients of the Award:
2007 Vickie S. Baselski
2006 Janet A. (Fick) Hindler
2005  Joseph M. Campos
2004  Alice S. Weissfeld
2003  J. Michael Miller
For Award Winners from previous years, please access the American Academy for Microbiology web pages.

[ASM Home] [Division C Home] [Top of Page] [ Award Page]
Send comments to CPWebmaster
Copyright (c) by American Society for Microbiology