The Scherago-Rubin Award

Purpose:  The Scherago-Rubin Award is presented to recognize an outstanding clinical microbiologist at the bachelor's or masters' level. This award was established by the late Sally Jo Rubin, an active member of the ASM Clinical Microbiology Division, in honor of her grandfather, Morris Scherago. 
Eligibility: A nondoctoral level clinical microbiologist who is involved primarily in routine diagnostics work rather than in research and who has distinguished himself or herself by excellent performance in the clinical laboratory. 
Award: A framed certificate and a cash prize of $1,500 to defray costs of attending the ASM General Meeting, where the laureate and nominator are honored guests at the ASM awards banquet.
Nominations:  All nomination materials must be submitted electronically
. Nominations must be received by October 1. Nominations will be considered without updating for three years. Self-nominations will not be accepted. Nominations must consist of the following:
  • Letter of Nomination. letter from the supervisor describing how the nominee's routine diagnostic work, rather than research, has distinguished himself or herself in the clinical laboratory.
  • Curriculum vitae, including a list of the nominee's publications.
  • Two letters of support. Preferably from individuals from different institutions.
How to Submit Nominations
  • Email the letter of nomination.
  • Email nominee's CV.
  • Ask two supporters to email their letters.
  • Email all materials to
Nomination materials will not be returned.

Recent Recipients of the Award:
2007 Michael S. Forman
2006 Angela Beth Prouse
2005 Yvonne Shea
2004 Caroline Irene Mohr
2003 Ernest Kent Korgenski
For Award Winners from previous years, please access the American Academy for Microbiology web pages.

[ASM Home] [Division C Home] [Top of Page] [ Award Page]
Send comments to CPWebmaster
Copyright (c) by American Society for Microbiology