2016 ASM Microbe Award Winners

The winners of awards to be presented at ASM Microbe 2016 are:

ASM Award in Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology

Honors a distinguished scientist in the field of clinical or diagnostic immunology

  • 2016 Winner: Jeffrey Schlom, Ph.D. 

ASM Lifetime Achievement Award (sponsored by AbbVie)

ASM's premier award for sustained contributions to the microbiological sciences

  • 2016 Winner: Thomas Silhavy, Ph.D.

ASM Graduate Microbiology Teaching Award

Honors an individual for exemplary teaching of microbiology and mentoring of students at the graduate and postgraduate levels (e.g., graduate school, medical school, or other health professional schools) and for encouraging students to subsequent achievement 

  • 2016 Winner: Patrick Schlievert, Ph.D.

BD Award for Research in Clinical Microbiology

Honors a distinguished clinical microbiologist for outstanding research accomplishments leading to or forming the foundation for important applications in clinical microbiology

  • 2016 Winner: Donna Wolk, MHA, Ph.D. 

bioMérieux Sonnenwirth Award for Leadership in Clinical Microbiology

Recognizes a distinguished microbiologist for the promotion of innovation in clinical laboratory science, dedication to ASM, and the advancement of clinical microbiology as a profession

  • 2016 Winner: Richard Hodinka, Ph.D. 

Carski Foundation Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award

Recognizes a mature individual for distinguished teaching of microbiology to undergraduate (prebaccalaureate) students and for encouraging them to subsequent achievement 

  • 2016 Winner: Loretta Brancaccio-Taras, Ph.D. 

ICAAC Antimicrobial Research Award

ASM's premier award honoring outstanding accomplishment in antimicrobial research.

  • 2016 Winner: David Hooper, M.D. 

DuPont Industrial Bioscience Award in Applied and Environmental Microbiology

Recognizes distinguished achievement in research and development in applied (non-clinical) and environmental microbiology

  • 2016 Winner: Joseph Suflita, Ph.D. 

Eli Lilly and Company-Elanco Research Award

ASM's oldest and most prestigious prize, it rewards fundamental research of unusual merit in microbiology or immunology by an individual who has not reached his/her 45th birthday. 

  • 2016 Winner: Erica Ollman Saphire, Ph.D. 

EMD Millipore Alice C. Evans Award

Honors a member of ASM for major contributions toward the full participation and advancement of women in microbiology.

  • 2016 Winner: Carol Gross, Ph.D. 

Hologic Joseph Public Health Award

Honors a distinguished microbiologist who has exhibited exemplary leadership and service in the field of public health.

  • 2016 Winner: Robert Martin, MPH, DrPH

Hardy Diagnostics ABMM/ABMLI Professional Recognition Award

Recognizes an ABMM or ABMLI Diplomate for outstanding contributions to the professional recognition of clinical microbiologists and/or immunologists.

  • 2016 Winner: Melvin Weinstein, M.D. 

William A. Hinton Research Training Award

Honors outstanding contributions toward fostering the research training of underrepresented minorities in microbiology

  • 2016 Winner: Hong Qin, Ph.D. 

Merck Irving S. Sigal Memorial Awards 

Recognize and award excellence in basic research in medical microbiology and infectious diseases

  • 2016 Winner: Melissa Kendall, Ph.D. and Nels Elde, Ph.D. 

ICAAC Young Investigator Awards

Recognizes and reward early career scientists for research excellence and potential in microbiology and infectious disease.

  • 2016 Winner: Yonatan Grad, Dusan Bogunovic, Cindy Liu, Stacey Horner 

Maurice Hilleman/Merck Award

ASM’s premier award for major contributions to pathogenesis, vaccine discovery, vaccine development, and/or control of vaccine-preventable diseases. The award is presented in memory of Maurice R. Hilleman, whose work in the development of vaccines has saved the lives of many throughout the world.

  • 2016 Winner: Peter Palese, Ph.D. 

Promega Biotechnology Research Award

Honors outstanding contributions to the application of biotechnology through fundamental microbiological research and development

  • 2016 Winner: James Collins, Ph.D. 

Raymond W. Sarber Awards

Recognize students at the undergraduate and pre-doctoral levels for research excellence and potential

  • 2016 Winner: Erin Symonds, MS (Graduate), Matthew Powers, BS (Undergraduate)

Moselio Schaechter Distinguished Service Award 

This award honors an ASM member who has shown exemplary leadership and commitment towards the substantial furthering of the profession of microbiology in research, education or technology in the developing world

  • 2016 Winner: Rup Lal, Ph.D. 

Scherago-Rubin Award

Recognizes an outstanding, bench-level clinical microbiologist 

  • 2016 Winner: Mary Plenzler, B.S. 

Beckman-Coulter Young Investigator Award

Recognizes research excellence and potential to further the educational or research objectives of an outstanding young clinical scientist

  • 2016 Winner: John Dekker, M.D./Ph.D. 

USFCC/J. Roger Porter Award

Recognizes outstanding efforts by a scientist who has demonstrated the importance of microbial biodiversity through sustained curatorial or stewardship activities for a major resource used by the scientific community

  • 2016 Winner: James Cole, Ph.D. 

D.C. White Research and Mentoring Award

Recognizes distinguished accomplishments in interdisciplinary research and mentoring in microbiology

  • 2016 Winner: Terence Dermody, M.D.