Contact: Garth Hogan 

Eighty-Seven Scientists Elected to the American Academy of Microbiology

Washington, DC—
March 29, 2013—Eighty-seven microbiologists have been elected to Fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology.  Fellows of the Academy are elected annually through a highly selective, peer-review process, based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology. There are over 2,000 Fellows representing all subspecialties of microbiology, including basic and applied research, teaching, public health, industry, and government service. The new Fellows are as follows:

-Salim S. Abdool Karim, MBChB, Ph.D., Center for the AIDS Program of Research in South Africa, Durban

-Munirul Alam, Ph.D., International Centre for Diarrheal Disease Research, Bangladesh (Dhaka)

-Karen Arndt, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh, PA

-Monsef Benkirane, Ph.D., Institut de Génétique Humaine, CNRS, Montpellier, France

-Jeffrey M. Bergelson, M.D., Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, University of Pennsylvania

-Marshall E. Bloom, M.D., Rocky Mountain Laboratories, NIAID/NIH, Hamilton, MT

-Elizaveta Bonch -Osmolovskaya, Ph.D., Winogradsky Institute of Microbiology RAS, Moscow, Russia

-Carlos Bustamante, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

-Michael Caparon, Ph.D., Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MO

-Louise T. Chow, Ph.D., University of Alabama at Birmingham

-Jon Clardy, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA

-Myron S. Cohen, M.D., University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

-Richard Condit, Ph.D., University of Florida, Gainesville

-Tyrrell Conway, Ph.D., University of Oklahoma, Norman

-Peggy A. Cotter, Ph.D., University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

-Blossom Damania, Ph.D., University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

-Joseph DeRisi, Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco

-Tamara Lea Doering, M.D., Ph.D., Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MO

-Valerian V. Dolja, Ph.D., Oregon State University, Corvallis

-Maria Gloria Domínguez-Bello, Ph.D., University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras

-Xinnian Dong, Ph.D., Duke University, Durham, NC

-Harold L. Drake, Ph.D., University of Bayreuth, Germany

-Nicole Dubilier, Ph.D., Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology, Bremen, Germany

-Stanislav Dusko Ehrlich, Ph.D., MetaGenoPoliS, Institut National de la Recherche Agronomique, Paris, France

-Michael Ehrmann, Ph.D., University Duisburg-Essen, Germany

-Paul T. Englund, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD

-Michael Follows, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge

-Georg Fuchs, Ph.D., University of Freiburg, Germany

-Takema Fukatsu, Ph.D., National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Tsukuba, Japan

-Shou-Jiang Gao, Ph.D., University of Southern California, Los Angeles

-Mariano A. Garcia Blanco, M.D./Ph.D., Duke University and Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School, Singapore

-Partho Ghosh, Ph.D., University of California, San Diego

-Ursula Goodenough, Ph.D., Washington University, St. Louis, MO

-Michael W. Gray, Ph.D., Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS, Canada

-Maria J. Harrison, Ph.D., Boyce Thompson Institute for Plant Research, Ithaca, NY

-Steven M. Holland, M.D., Laboratory of Clinical Infectious Diseases, NIAID, NIH, Bethesda, MD

-James T. Hollibaugh, Ph.D., University of Georgia, Athens

-Terence Hwa, Ph.D., University of California, San Diego

-Michael Ibba, Ph.D., The Ohio State University, Columbus

-Janet Jansson, Ph.D., Earth Sciences Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, CA

-Vijay Juneja, Ph.D., USDA-ARS-Eastern Regional Research Center, Wyndmoor, PA

-Kami Kim, M.D., Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, NY

-Dennis Marc Klinman, M.D., Ph.D., NCI, Frederick, MD

-H. Clifford Lane, M.D., NIAID, NIH, Bethesda, MD

-Richard E. Lloyd, Ph.D., Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX 

-Jennifer Jane Loros, Ph.D., The Audrey and Theodor Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth, Hanover, NH

-David A. Low, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara

-Erich R. Mackow, Ph.D., Stony Brook University, NY

-Robert E. Mandrell, Ph.D, USDA, Albany, CA

-Robert L. Modlin, M.D., University of California, Los Angeles

-Søren Molin, Ph.D., The Technical University of Denmark, Lyngby

-Guido C. Mora, Ph.D., Universidad Andres Bello, Santiago, Chile

-Philip Murphy, M.D., NIAID, NIH, Bethesda, MD

-Xavier Nassif, M.D., Ph.D., Université Paris Descartes, Faculté de Médecine, Hôpital Necker-Enfants Malades, Paris, France

-Scott O'Neill, Ph.D., Monash University, Clayton, Australia

-R. John Parkes, Ph.D., Cardiff University, United Kingdom

-Matthew R. Parsek, Ph.D., University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle

-Edward J. Pearce, Ph.D., Washington University School of Medicine, St Louis, MO

-Eric M. Phizicky, Ph.D., University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry, NY

-Roger J. Pomerantz, M.D., F.A.C.P., Merck & Co., North Wales, PA

-Jacques Ravel, Ph.D., University of Maryland School of Medicine, Institute for Genome Sciences, Baltimore

-Forest Rohwer, Ph.D., San Diego State University, CA

-Susan M. Rosenberg, Ph.D., Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX 

-Mirja S. Salkinoja-Salonen, Ph.D., University of Helsinki, Finland

-George P.C. Salmond, ScD., University of Cambridge, United Kingdom

-Stewart Shuman, M.D., Ph.D., Sloan-Kettering Institute for Cancer Research, MSKCC, New York, NY

-Vanessa Sperandio, Ph.D., University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, TX

-Alfred Spormann, Ph.D., Stanford University, CA

-Raymond J. St. Leger, Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park

-Michael Starnbach, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA

-Gregory Stephanopoulos, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge

-Surachai Supattapone, M.D., Ph.D., D.Phil., The Audrey and Theodor Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth, Hanover, NH

-Kenneth S. Thomson, Ph.D., Creighton University, Omaha, NE

-Paula Traktman, Ph.D., Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

-B. Gillian Turgeon, Ph.D., Cornell University, Ithaca, NY

-Rodney Kim Tweten, Ph.D., University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, Oklahoma City

-Alex van Belkum, Ph.D., Ph.D., bioMerieux, S.A., La Balme les Grottes, France

-Jörg Vogel, Dr. rer. nat., University of Würzburg, Germany

-Michael Wagner, Ph.D., University of Vienna, Austria

-Mark J. Walker, Ph.D., Australian Infectious Diseases Research Centre, St. Lucia

-Alison Weiss, Ph.D., University of Cincinnati, OH

-Sean P. J. Whelan, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA

-Bryan Raymond George Williams, Ph.D., Monash Institute of Medical Research, Monash University, Clayton, Australia
-George B. Witman, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester

-Gerard D. Wright, Ph.D., McMaster University, Hamilton, ON, Canada

-Jiunn-Jong Wu, Ph.D., College of Medicine, National Cheng Kung University, Tainan, Taiwan

-Mark Young, Ph.D., Montana State University, Bozeman

For information about election to the Fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology, please visit:


The American Academy of Microbiology is the honorific leadership group of the American Society for Microbiology. The mission of the Academy is to recognize scientific excellence, as well as foster knowledge and understanding in the microbiological sciences.  More information on the Academy can be found online at

The American Society for Microbiology is the largest single life science society, composed of over 39,000 scientists and health professionals.  ASM’s mission is to advance the microbiological sciences as a vehicle for understanding life processes and to apply and communicate this knowledge for the improvement of health and environmental and economic well-being worldwide. For more information, visit