The Board of Governors of the American Academy of Microbiology conducts business on behalf of the Fellowship and oversees Academy programs. According to the Bylaws, the Board consists of one Chair and nine Governors who meet once annually. Each governor is elected by the Fellows of the Academy to a three-year term, and may be re-elected once for a second three-year term. The Chair is also elected by the Fellowship for a three-year term, in addition to any term served as a Governor, and is eligible for an additional three-year term. Elected Officers of ASM, the Executive Director of ASM, and the Director of the Academy serve as ex-officio members of the Board of Governors without voting power.


The role of the Board of Governors is to: 

• Set strategic direction for Academy programs 
• Ratify all election recommendations of the Committee on Elections
• Develop the slate of candidates for the Committee on Elections 
• Approve all new awards recommended by the Committee on Awards 
• Serve as a review panel and decision-making body for all Academy termination of membership actions 
• Establish new programs consistent with the Academy’s mission and strategic plan 
• Develop and approve all colloquia topics

Board of Governors Roster