Board of Governors Roster



Arturo Casadevall ('20) Chair, Board of Governors

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor and Chair of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
Johns Hopkins University School of Public Health
Baltimore, Maryland

His major research interests are in fungal pathogenesis and the mechanism of antibody action. Dr. Casadevall is also interested in issues related to the conduct of science. Dr. Casadevall’s term as Chair Elect began in July 2016 and he will begin as Chair in July 2017.

blaser martin


Martin J. Blaser ('18)

Professor of Microbiology, Frederick H. King Professor of Internal Medicine and Chair, Department of Medicine
New York University Langone Medical Center
New York, New York

Dr. Blaser investigates the role of the changing microbiome in human health and disease.

bryant donald

Donald A. Bryant ('18)Ernest C. Pollard Professor of Biotechnology and Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Pennsylvania State University
University Park, Pennsylvania 
Research Professor, Dept. of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Montana State University
Bozeman, Montana

Dr. Bryant is a microbial (eco)physiologist, who has applied genomics, genetics, biochemistry, and structural biology to study chlorophototrophs-CyanobacteriaChloroflexiChlorobi, and recently Acidobacteria-for forty years.

nancy craig 5x7

Nancy Craig ('18)
Professor of Molecular Biology and Genetics
Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, Maryland.

Dr. Craig's lab is focused on the molecular mechanisms by which genes are transported elements such as discrete pieces of DNA move and how they can be traced and used in genome engineering.

Dermody Terence

Terence Dermody ('20)
Dorothy Overall Wells Professor of Pediatrics and Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology
Director, Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases
Director, Medical Scientist Training Program Lamb Center for Pediatric Research
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Nashville, TN

Dr. Dermody is a virologist with interests in viral pathogenesis and vaccine development.  Most of his research focuses on mammalian reovirus and chikungunya virus.

Fields Stanley

Stan Fields ('19)

HHMI Investigator & Professor,
Departments of Genome Sciences and Medicine, University of Washington
Seattle, WADr. Fields develops biological assays to analyze the function of proteins, often using yeast as a model for assays that can be applied to proteins from any organism. In one recent approach, his laboratory characterizes the activity of each of thousands of variants of a single protein to infer fundamental properties and to assess the effects of human genetic variation.

hughes james

James M. Hughes ('18)

Professor of Medicine (Infectious Diseases) and Public Health (Global Health)
Emory University
Atlanta, GeorgiaDr. Hughes’ interests include emerging and re-emerging infectious diseases, antimicrobial resistance, vectorborne and zoonotic diseases at the human, animal, and ecosystem interface (One Health), and strengthening public health surveillance and laboratory capacity at the local, national, and global levels.


 Moran Mary Ann

Mary Ann Moran ('20)

Distinguished Professor, Department of Marine Sciences
University of Georgia
Athens, Georgia

Research in Dr. Moran’s laboratory focuses on roles of marine bacteria in the cycling of carbon and sulfur in the ocean, applying tools from ecological genomics, metagenomics, and metatranscriptomics to address how these elements are transformed within the marine microbial food web.


Barbara Murray

Barbara E. Murray ('20)

Division Director, Professor, Division of Infectious Diseases
University of Texas - Houston Medical School
Houston, TX

Dr. Murray’s laboratory’s broad interests involve the genetic and biochemical mechanisms of resistance to antibiotics and bacterial pathogenicity, particularly relating to enterococci, and molecular epidemiologic typing methods.

Alison o brien

Alison O'Brien ('20)

Chair, Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Uniformed Services University

Bethesda, MD

Current studies in Dr. O’Brien’s laboratory are focused on the role of Shiga toxins in the pathogenesis of hemorrhagic colitis and the hemolytic uremic syndrome, identification and characterization of the roles of virulence factors in an animal model of enteroaggregative E. coli disease, and assessment of the roles of toxins and capsules in the virulence of the anthrax-like B. cereus strain G9241.

Walker Graham

Graham C. Walker ('19)

American Cancer Society Professor, HHMI Professor 
Massachusetts Institute of Technology 
Cambridge, Massachusetts Dr. Walker's lab studies bacterial responses to DNA damage with a special emphasis on translesion DNA polymerases. This work has had implications for mutagenesis, antibiotic action, and cancer chemotherapy. His lab's research on the Sinorhizobium-legume symbiosis has revealed bacterial functions necessary for this bacteria-host interaction, while also offering insights into other fundamental issues such as vitamin B12 biosynthesis and RNA metabolism.

Alice Weissfeld

Alice C. Weissfeld ('19)

Microbiology Specialists 
Houston, TX Dr. Weissfelds expertise is on a variety of issues including laboratory regulations, quality control and environmental and clinical microbiology, as well as virology, pathogenic bacteriology, mycobacteriology, administration and regulatory affairs.