About ASM Banner

2016-2017 OFFICERS

Susie SharpSusan Sharp, President

Dr. Susan Sharp is the current President of ASM. Dr. Sharp received her B.S. in Medical Technology and her M.S. in Medical Microbiology & Biochemistry from the University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha, Nebraska. She received her Ph.D. in Veterinary Microbiology and Parasitology from the Veterinary School of Medicine, Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas. She is currently the Regional Director for Microbiology and Molecular Infectious Disease Laboratories at Kaiser Permanente in Portland, Oregon. Dr. Sharp has been a clinical microbiologist and an active member of The American Society for Microbiology (ASM) for 30 years serving on various boards and committees. She is a Diplomate of the American Board of Medical Microbiology (ABMM) and a Fellow in the American Academy of Microbiology.

Contact Dr. Sharp


Stefano BertuzziStefano Bertuzzi, CEO

Stefano Bertuzzi, Ph.D., MPH, joined ASM as the Executive Director/CEO of the American Society for Microbiology on Jan. 4, 2016. Dr. Bertuzzi previously served as the Executive Director at the American Society for Cell Biology for 3 years. Before leading the American Society for Cell Biology, Dr. Bertuzzi was a senior scientific executive at the National Institutes of Health where he served as Director of the Office of Science Policy, Planning, and Communications at the National Institute of Mental Health, and as a science policy advisor to the NIH Director, Dr. Elias Zerhouni.

Bertuzzi received his Ph.D. in Molecular Biotechnology from the Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore of Milan, Italy with a fellowship in the Microbiology Institute, and his Master’s in Public Health (MPH) from the Bloomberg School of Public Health at the Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore with a specialization in health policy.

Contact Dr. Bertuzzi


cotterPeggy Cotter, President-Elect

Dr. Cotter is a professor in the department of Microbiology and Immunology at the UNC School of Medicine. She received her bachelor's in Microbiology and Psychobiology from the University of California Los Angeles (UCLA), then earned her Ph.D. in Microbiology and Molecular Genetics from UCLA. Research in Dr. Cotter’s lab focuses on investigating the role of gene regulation and of regulated factors, in establishment, maintenance and transmission of bacterial respiratory tract infections. She is a fellow in the American Academy of Microbiology.


enquistLynn Enquist, Past President

Dr. Enquist received a bachelor's degree in Bacteriology from South Dakota State University in 1967. He received his Ph.D. in Microbiology from the Medical College of Virginia, Virginia Commonwealth University in 1971 with S. Gaylen Bradley studying streptomyces biology. He did postdoctoral training at the Roche Institute of Molecular Biology from 1971 to 1973 studying bacteriophage lambda replication and recombination with Ann Skalka. He is the Henry L. Hillman Professor in Molecular Biology and Professor in the Princeton Neuroscience Institute at Princeton University, as well as the editor-in-chief of the journal Annual Review of Virology. His research focuses on neuroinvasive alpha-herpesviruses.


donohueTim Donohue, Secretary

Dr. Donohue is the UW Foundation Chairman Fetzer-Bascom Professor in the department of Bacteriology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He received his B.S. in Life Sciences from Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn and his Ph.D. in Microbiology from Pennsylvania State University. He became a fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology in 2000 and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2009. Dr. Donohue served as ASM’s president in 2013. His laboratory’s research analyzes pathways and networks that microbes use to grow, generate biomass, or produce alternative fuels from sunlight or other renewable sources of energy.


tiedjeJames Tiedje, Treasurer

Dr. Tiedje is a University Distinguished Professor in the department of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics and Director of the Center for Microbial Ecology at Michigan State University. He received his B.S. from Iowa State University, and his Ph.D. from Cornell University. The research theme of his laboratory is to understand the ecology, physiology and biochemistry of microbial processes important in nature and of value to industry. He has served as Editor-in-Chief of Applied and Environmental Microbiology and Editor of Microbial and Molecular Biology Reviews, and he is Fellow of the AAAS (The American Association for the Advancement of Science), the American Academy of Microbiology, and the Soil Science Society of America, and is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.





Joomla! Debug Console


Profile Information

Memory Usage

Database Queries