Division A

Antimicrobial Chemotherapy
Division A is concerned with the discovery, mode of action, development and use of antimicrobial agents, and the mechanisms by which infective agents develop resistance to these compounds.

2013 Officers - all terms run from July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013

Chair
Hanna M. Wexler
UCLA School of Medicine
Los Angeles, CA
hwexler@ucla.edu
310-268-3404

Chair-Elect
Jeffrey D. Alder
Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
Montville, NJ
jeff-lisa-alder@hotmail.com

Councilor
Linda A. Miller
GLAXOSMITHKLINE
Collegeville, PA
linda.a.miller@gsk.com
610-917-6280

Division A is part of Divisional Group II - Pathogenesis and Host Response Mechanisms

Divisional Group Representative
Victor DiRita
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
vdirita@umich.edu


Join DivANet

Website

 

Division Officer Contact Information


 

 

Divisional Groups

Divisional Groups

Divisions in Group

Divisional Group Representative 

I - Diagnostic Microbiology and Epidemiology

 C, F, L, V, Y, AA

Ellen Jo Baron
Stanford University Medical Center
Palo Alto, CA 
ejbaron@stanford.edu
650-380-6430

II - Pathogenesis and Host Response Mechanisms

 A, B, D, E, G, U, Z

Virginia Miller
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
vlmiller@med.unc.edu 

III - General and Applied Microbiology

 I, N, O, P, Q, R, W

Joy Doran Peterson
joydoranpeterson@gmail.com

IV - Molecular Microbiology, Physiology and Virology

 H, J, K, M, S, T, X

Paul Babitzke
Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA 
pxb28@psu.edu

 

 Divisions (Officer terms are from July 1, 2013 - June 30, 2014)

Division Chair Chair-Elect Councilor
A -
Antimicrobial Chemotherapy
Keith Klugman
Emory University
Atlanta, GA
kklugma@emory.edu
Joyce Sutcliffe
Tetraphase Pharmaceuticals
Watertown, MA
jsutcliffe@tphase.com
Jeffrey Alder
Bayer Healthcare Pharmaceuticals Inc.
Montville, NJ
jeff.alder@bayer.edu

B -
Microbial Pathogens
Steven Blanke
University of Illinois
Urbana, IL
sblanke@life.illinois.edu


Renee M. Tsolis
University of California
Davis, CA
rmtsolis@ucdavis.edu

Nicholas P. Cianciotto
Northwestern University Medical School
Chicago, IL
n-cianciotto@northwestern.edu


 

C -
Clinical Microbiology
Susan Sharp
Kaiser Permanente, NW
Portland, OR
susan.e.sharp@kp.org 



David W. Craft
Penn State Hershey Medical Center
Hershey, PA
dcraft1@hmc.psu.edu



Sheldon M. Campbell
Yale University School of Medicine
West Haven, CT
sheldon.campbell@yale.edu

D -
Microbe-Host Interactions
Olaf Schneewind
The University of Chicago
Chicago, IL
oschnee@bsd.uchicago.edu

Nina Salama
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Ctr.
Seattle, WA
nsalama@fhcrc.org

 

Marvin Whiteley
The University of Texas
Austin, TX
mwhiteley@mail.utexas.edu
E -
Immunology
David Mosser
University of Maryland
College Park, MD
dmosser@umd.edu

Kate Fitzgerald
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Worchester, MA
kate.fitzgerald@umassmed.edu

 

 

Maya Saleh
McGill Life Sciences Complex
Montreal, QC, Canada
maya.saleh@mcgill.ca

F -
Medical Mycology
Maurizio Del Poeta
Med University of South Carolina
Charleston, SC
maurizio.delpoeta@stonybrook.edu

Aaron Mitchell
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA
apm1@cmu.edu

 

John Perfect
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC
perfe001@mc.duke.edu


G -
Mycoplasmology
Chris Minion
Iowa State University
Ames, IA
fcminion@iastate.edu

Meghan A. May
Towson University
Towson, MD
mmay3@une.edu


John I. Glass
J. Craig Venter Institute
Rockville, MD
jglass@jcvi.org

H -
Genetics and Molecular Biology
Joseph Peters
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY
jep48@cornell.edu
Christopher S. Hayes
MCDB
Santa Barbara, CA
chayes@lifesci.ucsb.edu



Sidney R. Kushner
University of Georgia
Athens, GA
skushner@uga.edu

I -
General Microbiology
Eric V. Stabb
University of Georgia
Athens, GA
estabb@uga.edu
Karen Visick
Loyola University Medical Center
Maywood, IL
kvisick@lumc.edu


Joerg Graf
University of Connecticut
Storrs Mansfield, CT
joerg.graf@uconn.edu

J -
Cell and Structural Biology
Briana Burton
Harvard University
Somerville, MA
bburton@mcb.harvard.edu


Peter Chien
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA
pchien@biochem.umass.edu

Daniel B. Kearns
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN
dbkearns@indiana.edu
K -
Microbial Physiology and Metabolism
Jared Leadbetter
California Institute of Technology
Pasadena, CA
jleadbetter@caltech.edu
Jeffrey A. Gralnick
University of Minnesota
Saint Paul, MN
gralnick@umn.edu



Tyrrell Conway
University of Oklahoma
Norman, OK
tconway@ou.edu

L -
Healthcare Epidemiology
Tom Talbot
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN
tom.talbot@vanderbilt.edu


Daniel J. Morgan
University of Maryland School of Med
Baltimore, MD
dmorgan@epi.umaryland.edu

Connie S. Price
University of Colorado
Denver, CO
connie.price@dhha.org
M -
Bacteriophage
Louise Temple
James Madison University
Harrisonburg, VA
templelm@jmu.edu

Mark Young
Montana State University
Bozeman, MT
myoung@montana.edu

Carlos E. Catalano
University of Washington
Seattle, WA
catalanc@uw.edu

 

N -
Microbial Ecology
K. Eric Wommack
University of Delaware
Newark, DE
wommack@dbi.udel.edu

Robert Sanford
University of Illinois
Urbana, IL
rsanford@illinois.edu

 

Karsten Zengler
University of California-San Diego
La Jolla, CA
kzengler@ucsd.edu
O -
Fermentation and Biotechnology
Badal Saha
USDA-ARS
Peoria, IL
badal.saha@ars.usda.gov
 
Steven D. Brown
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Oak Ridge, TN
brownsd@ornl.gov

 
George M. Garrity
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI
garrity@msu.edu
P -
Food Microbiology
Pina Fratamico
USDA-ARS
Wyndmoor, PA
pina.fratamico@ars.usda.gov
 

Omar A. Oyarzabal
Institute for Environmental Health, Inc.
Lake Forest Park, WA
oaoyarzabal@gmail.com

 

Francisco Diez-Gonzalez
University of Minnesota
St. Paul, MN
fdiez@umn.edu
Q -
Environmental and General Applied Microbiology
Donna Fennell
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
New Brunswick, NJ
fennell@envsci.rutgers.edu
Valerie J. (Jody) Harwood
University of South Florida
Tampa, FL
vharwood@cas.usf.edu

Jill Stewart
Univesity of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
jill.stewart@unc.edu

 

R -
Evolutionary and Genomic Microbiology
Jennifer Gardy
British Columbia Ctr. of Disease Control
Vancouver, BC, Canada
jennifer.gardy@bccdc.ca
Tim Cooper
University of Houston
Houston, TX
tfcooper@uh.edu


Rachel J. Whitaker
University of Illinois
Urbana, IL
rwhitaker@life.uiuc.edu

S -
DNA Viruses
Katherine Spindler
University of Michigan Medical School
Ann Arbor, MI
krspin@umich.edu

Alison McBride
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD
amcbride@nih.gov


Lindsey M. Hutt-Fletcher
Louisiana State University
Shreveport, LA
lhuttf@lsuhsc.edu

T -
RNA Viruses
Kim Y. Green
National Institute of Allergy & Infectious Disease
Bethesda, MD
kgreen@niaid.nih.gov



Erica Ollmann Saphire
The Scripps Research Institute
La Jolla, CA
erica@scripps.edu


Leslie J. Parent
Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine
Hershey, PA
lparent@psu.edu

U -
Mycobacteriology

Kathleen McDonough
David Axelrod Institute
Albany, NY
kathleen.mcdonough@wadsworth.org

 

Eric Rubin
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA
erubin@hsph.harvard.edu

 

Sabine Ehrt
Weill Cornell Medical College
New York, NY
sae2004@med.cornell.edu
V -
Clinical and Molecular Diagnostic Immunology

Nahed Ismail
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA
ismailn@upmc.edu

 

Sandra Steiner
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Atlanta, GA
ssteiner@cdc.gov

 

 

Moon H. Nahm
University of Alabama
Birmingham, AL
nahm@uab.edu

W -
Microbiology Education
Laurie Caslake
Lafayette College
Easton, PA
caslakel@lafayette.edu
Jennifer Herzog
Herkimer County Community College
Herkimer, NY
herzogja@herkimer.edu



Robert W. Bauman
Amarillo College
Amarillo, TX
bauman-rw@actx.edu

X -
Molecular, Cellular and General Biology of Eukaryotes
N. Louis Glass
UC-Berkeley
Berkeley, CA
lglass@berkeley.edu


(William) Scott Moye-Rowley
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA 
scott-moye-rowley@uiowa.edu
George F. Sprague, Jr.
University of Oregon
Eugene, OR
gsprague@molbio.oregon.edu
Y -
Public Health
Joanne Bartkus
Minnesota Department of Health
Saint Paul, MN
joanne.bartkus@state.mn.us

Susanne Zanto Norris
Helena, MT
szanto@mt.gov

 

Denise (Dee) A. Pettit
North Carolina State Laboratory of Public Health
Raleigh, NC
dee.pettit@dhhs.nc.gov

 

Z -
Animal Health Microbiology
Paul Plummer
Iowa State University
Boone, IA
pplummer@iastate.edu

Richard Isaacson
University of Minnesota
Saint Paul, MN 
isaac015@umn.edu

 

Shawn Bearson
US Department of Agriculture
Ames, IA
shawn.bearson@ars.usda.gov

AA -
Free-Living, Symbiotic and Parasitic Protists
Gustavo Arrizabalaga
Indiana University School of Medicine
Bloomington, IN 
garrizab@iupui.edu

Marc-Jan Gubbels
Boston College
Chestnut Hill, MA
gubbelsj@bc.edu

 

Peter J. Myler
Seattle Biomed Res Inst/Univ of WA
Seattle, WA
peter.myler@seattle.biomed.org

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Division Resources and Training

General Meeting Information

2010 Division Officer Administrative Duties
Division Officers have many things to think about beyond the General Meeting. This short presentation will help guide you through your administrative duties and responsibilities.
2010 General Meeting Program Planning
Development of the Program for each General Meeting starts over a year in advance of the actual meeting. This presentation will provide you with the basics of how to do it.
2009 Abstract Reviews I - Duties
The Abstract Review Process is a critical part of your annual commitment to the General Meeting. This overview describes the responsibilities for all reviewers.
2009 Abstract Reviews II - Process
The discussion on the Abstract Review Process continues in this talk with a description of how the on-line review process works.

History of the General Meeting
If you are interested in looking at who has been a division chair or the division lecturer, the following downloads are the place to find them.

Division Chairs
This document contains a listing of all division Chairs since 1981.
Division Lecturers
This document contains a listing of all division lectures since 1981.
Divisional Group Symposia
The Divisional Group Symposia represent ideas of broad interest to the divisions within each group. This listing will give you the titles of these important sessions at the meeting.
ASM Lectures
The ASM Lecture is the keynote address for the General Meeting. This document provides a listing of who has been the ASM Lecturer (and the topic) since 1981.


Other Information

Division Web Page Development
Want to develop a web page for your division? This document provides you with some ideas on suggested content as well as ASM's policies relating to this important method of communication with your division membership.
Division Listservs
A listserve dedicated to the interests of your division is a convenient tool in the communication process. This document will help you create this service for your division.

 

 


Division Information

The scientific interests of the society's membership comprise the full spectrum of microbiology. Because of this, the society has been divided into divisions where each division represents scientists with similar scientific interests and research goals. Each division is also represented on the ASM Council that is tasked with governing the activities of the Society.

Upon registering with the Society, scientists or students may designate a Primary and Secondary Division for membership based on their individual interests. Establising Full Membership in their Primary Division includes the right to elect the Division Leadership (Councilor, Chair, and Chair-Elect). Membership in the Secondary Division ensures each scientist can be aware of changes in policy for that division as well as expand the network of scientists with like interests. The member cannot vote for the Division Leadership positions in his secondary division. A member can change division affiliations at any time by changing their Membership Profile found at "Change Your Password and More" under the Members Only Section of the landing page of this website.

Benefits of Participation

Participation in Division activities goes well beyond the informal network of scientists with similar scientific interests. Members can:

  1. Participate in the governance of the Society;
  2. Receive current information on the topic through newsletters, direct mail, and participate in on-line discussion groups;
  3. Be involved in arranging scientific sessions, lectures and seminars held at the ASM General Meeting; and
  4. Attend and network at specialized programs such as division meetings, social events and other events at ASM General Meeting.

Each Division contributes to the development the scientific program at the ASM General Meeting (the annual membership meeting of the Society). Each year, the Division Leadership encourages the input of session topic ideas and the identification of key speakers to help produce a quality program at the meeting where over 75% of the invited speaker sessions and 100% of the poster program is developed or managed by the Divisions. In addition to the programs produced by the Meetings Department of the ASM Staff, the Divisions disseminate this information to their members through individual websites.

Division Structure and Change

Each Division must have  a total of 300 primary and/or secondary voting eligible members officially affiliated with it to take an active part in the governance of both the Society and the Division. The Primary Members of the Division may modify the name or description of division activities using the following procedures:

  • To change the name of a division, members must agree by vote that the change is required. The newly proposed name must be sent to the Chair of the Committee on Divisions for review. Because of the Division's General Meeting Programming Activities, this information is also communicated to the General Meeting Program Committee. If there are no problems, the proposal goes to the Chair of the Meetings Board to present the issue to CPC and the ASM Council for approval.
  • To change the description of an existing division, the Division Chair should discuss any recommendations with its members, then send the revised description to ASM for review by the Committee on Divisions. The Committee on Divisions ensures that the new description does not significantly overlap those of another Division's description. Once this review is complete, the new description will be adopted and published.

Based on changes to the science and practice of microbiology, it may become necessary to modify the Division structure through the introduction of a new Division. To create a new division, at least 300 Full members must sign a petition agreeing to become either a primary or secondary member of the division if it is successfully created. Once the membership requirement has been met, the issue can be presented to CPC and ASM Council by the Chair of the Meetings Board. If approved by the ASM Council, all qualifying signatories are automatically transferred to the new division.

TPL_asm2013_SEARCH