Wednesday, 13 September 2017 11:28

Announcing the 2018 ASM Award Winners

Written by 
Published in ASM News

Washington, DC – September 13, 2017  – The 2018 American Society for Microbiology awards in basic research, applied research, clinical research, education, and service have now been announced. ASM would like to congratulate all award winners for their achievements. The American Academy of Microbiology is the honorific leadership group within the ASM, the world's oldest and largest life science organization. The mission of the Academy is to recognize scientists for outstanding contributions to microbiology and provide microbiological expertise in the service of science and the public. ASM appreciates the support of our Corporate Council, who sponsored these awards in part.

The winners are listed below.

Applied Research Awards

DuPont Industrial Biosciences Award in Applied and Environmental Microbiology
Recognizes distinguished achievement in research and development in applied (non-clinical) and environmental microbiology

  •  2018 Winners: Michael Adams, Ph.D., and Robert Kelly, Ph.D.

Promega Biotechnology Research Award
Honors outstanding contributions to the application of biotechnology through fundamental microbiological research and development

  •  2018 Winner: Timothy Donohue, Ph.D.

USFCC/J. Roger Porter Award
Recognizes outstanding efforts by a scientist who has demonstrated the importance of microbial biodiversity through sustained curatorial or stewardship activities for a major resource used by the scientific community

  •  2018 Winner: Nikos Kyripides, Ph.D.

Basic Research Awards

Antimicrobial Research Award
ASM's premier award honoring outstanding accomplishment in antimicrobial research.

  •  2018 Winner: Manju Bala, M.D., Ph.D.

Eli Lilly and Company-Elanco Research Award
ASM's oldest and most prestigious prize, it rewards fundamental research of unusual merit in microbiology or immunology by an individual who has not reached his/her 45th birthday

  •  2018 Winner: Thirumala-Devi Kanneganti, Ph.D.

Maurice Hilleman Award
ASM’s premier award for major contributions to pathogenesis, vaccine discovery, vaccine development, and/or control of vaccine-preventable diseases. The award is presented in memory of Maurice R. Hilleman, whose work in the development of vaccines has saved the lives of many throughout the world.

  •  2018 Winner: Stephen Whitehead, Ph.D.

Merck Irving S. Sigal Memorial Award
Recognizes and awards excellence in basic research in medical microbiology and infectious diseases

  •  2018 Winner: Dennis Ko, M.D., Ph.D.

Raymond W. Sarber Awards
Recognize students at the undergraduate and pre-doctoral levels for research excellence and potential

  •  2018 Winners: Leena Malayil, M.S. (Graduate); Karthik Hullahalli, B.S. (Undergraduate)

Young Investigator Awards
Recognize and reward early career scientists for research excellence and potential in microbiology and infectious disease

  •  2018 Winners: Elizabeth Egan, M.D., Ph.D.; Britt Koskella, Ph.D.; Peter Turnbaugh, Ph.D.

Clinical Research Awards

ASM Award in Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology
Honors a distinguished scientist in the field of clinical or diagnostic immunology

  •  2018 Winner: Nicholas Restifo, M.D.

Award for Research in Clinical Microbiology
Honors a distinguished clinical microbiologist for outstanding research accomplishments leading to or forming the foundation for important applications in clinical microbiology

  •  2018 Winner: Kimberle Chapin, M.D.

Diagnostics Young Investigator Award
Recognizes research excellence and potential to further the educational or research objectives of an outstanding young clinical scientist

  •  2018 Winner: Patricia Simner, Ph.D.

Scherago-Rubin Award
Recognizes an outstanding, bench-level clinical microbiologist

  •  2018 Winner: Blaine Mathison, M(ASCP)

Education Awards

ASM Graduate Microbiology Teaching Award
Honors an individual for exemplary teaching of microbiology and mentoring of students at the graduate and postgraduate levels (e.g., graduate school, medical school, or other health professional schools) and for encouraging students to subsequent achievement

  •  2018 Winner: Eric Gillock, Ph.D.

Carski Foundation Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award
Recognizes a mature individual for distinguished teaching of microbiology to undergraduate (prebaccalaureate) students and for encouraging them to subsequent achievement

  •  2018 Winner: Mark Martin, Ph.D.

D.C. White Research and Mentoring Award
Recognizes distinguished accomplishments in interdisciplinary research and mentoring in microbiology

  •  2018 Winner: Donald Bryant, Ph.D.

William A. Hinton Research Training Award
Honors outstanding contributions toward fostering the research training of underrepresented minorities in microbiology

  •  2018 Winner: Peter Lipke, Ph.D.

Service Awards

Alice C. Evans Award
Honors a member of ASM for major contributions toward the full participation and advancement of women in microbiology.

  •  2018 Winner: Carolyn Teschke, Ph.D.

ASM Lifetime Achievement Award
ASM's premier award for sustained contributions to the microbiological sciences.

  •  2018 Winner: Hiroshi Nikaido, Ph.D.

Hardy Diagnostics ABMM/ABMLI Professional Recognition Award
Recognizes an ABMM or ABMLI Diplomate for outstanding contributions to the professional recognition of clinical microbiologists and/or immunologists.

  •  2018 Winner: Betty Ann Forbes, Ph.D.

Joseph Public Health Award
Honors a distinguished microbiologist who has exhibited exemplary leadership and service in the field of public health.

  •  2018 Winner: Antonio Cassone, M.D.

Sonnenwirth Award for Leadership in Clinical Microbiology
Recognizes a distinguished microbiologist for the promotion of innovation in clinical laboratory science, dedication to ASM, and the advancement of clinical microbiology as a profession

  •  2018 Winner: Mary Jane Ferraro, Ph.D.
Last modified on Saturday, 31 March 2018 16:56