Monday, 02 October 2017 11:30

2017 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine: Hall, Rosbash, and Young

Written by 
Published in ASM News

The 2017 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine has been announced, and again this year ASM is proud that its members have been recognized by what may be the highest award in the sciences.

Jeffrey Hall, Michael Rosbash, and Michael W. Young have been named as the 2017 laureates in Physiology or Medicine in recognition of their work on circadian rhythms. Their mapping of Drosophila genes involved in circadian regulation and further elucidation of the proteins and regulatory machinery that control them served as the basis for further work in other organisms, including humans. According to the release from the Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet, “Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young were able to peek inside our biological clock and elucidate its inner workings. Their discoveries explain how plants, animals and humans adapt their biological rhythm so that it is synchronized with the Earth's revolutions.”

Michael Rosbash of Brandeis University is a former ASM member and Michael W. Young of Rockefeller University is a current ASM member. ASM extends its congratulations to all three laureates for their outstanding contributions. 


Last modified on Monday, 02 October 2017 11:41