Wednesday, 04 October 2017 10:15

2017 Nobel Prize in Chemistry: Henderson, Frank, Dubochet

Written by 
Published in ASM News

Richard Henderson, Joachim Frank, and Jacques Dubochet have been awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for their work on improving electron microscopy techniques. Their contributions over the last 4 decades have made it possible to visualize biomolecules and processes occurring at the molecular level. The discoveries made possible by these capabilities are revolutionizing biochemistry, and may lead to “detailed images of life’s complex machineries in atomic resolution,” according to the press release of the Nobel prize committee.

Joachim Frank of Columbia University, New York is a member of the American Academy of Microbiology. ASM congratulates all three laureates for their contributions in moving biochemistry into a new era.