Friday, 11 May 2018 11:32

9 ASM Members Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Written by 
Published in ASM News

Nine ASM members are among the 84 new members and 21 foreign associates announced today by The National Academy of Sciences (NAS). Members and foreign associates are elected in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Congratulations to these ASM members for their election!

ASM Members Newly Elected as NAS Members

Roger J. Davis, investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and H. Arthur Smith Chair and professor of molecular medicine, Program in Molecular Medicine, University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester.

Sarah C.R. Elgin, professor, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and Victor Hamburger Professor of Arts & Sciences; professor of biology, of biochemistry, of genetics, and of education, Washington University, St. Louis.

Michael M. Gottesman, deputy director for intramural research, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Md.

Akiko Iwasaki, investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor of Immunobiology and Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology and professor of molecular, cellular, and developmental biology, Department of Microbiology and Immunobiology, Yale School of Medicine, New Haven, Conn.

David G. Schatz, Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor of Immunobiology, professor of molecular biophysics and biochemistry, and chair of immunobiology, Yale School of Medicine, New Haven, Conn.

Olaf Schneewind, Louis Block Professor and professor of microbiology, Department of Microbiology, The University of Chicago, Chicago.

Christopher A. Walsh, investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; chief, Division of Genetics and Genomics, Boston Children's Hospital; and Bullard Professor of Pediatrics and Neurology, Harvard Medical School, Boston.

Virginia A. Zakian, Harry C. Weiss Professor in the Life Sciences, Department of Molecular Biology, Princeton University, Princeton, N.J.

ASM Member Newly Elected as NAS Foreign Associate

Tomas Lindahl, emeritus group leader, Francis Crick Institute, London, United Kingdom.

Last modified on Friday, 11 May 2018 15:51