Announcing the 2017 ASM Award Winners

Washington, DC - October 24, 2016 - The 2017 ASM awards in basic research, applied research, clinical research, education, and service have now been announced. The ASM award laureates will be recognized for excellence in their fields at ASM Microbe 2017 in June. The ASM would like to congratulate all award winners for their achievements.

Applied Research Awards
DuPont Industrial Biosciences Award in Applied and Environmental Microbiology
Recognizes distinguished achievement in research and development in applied (non-clinical) and environmental microbiology

  •     2017 Winner: Lonnie Ingram, Ph.D.

Promega Biotechnology Research Award
Honors outstanding contributions to the application of biotechnology through fundamental microbiological research and development

  •     2017 Winner: Raymond St. Leger, Ph.D.

USFCC/J. Roger Porter Award
Recognizes outstanding efforts by a scientist who has demonstrated the importance of microbial biodiversity through sustained curatorial or stewardship activities for a major resource used by the scientific community

  •     2017 Winner: Kyria Boundy-Mills, Ph.D.

Basic Research Awards
Antimicrobial Research Award
ASM's premier award honoring outstanding accomplishment in antimicrobial research.

  •     2017 Winner: Melanie Cushion, Ph.D.

Eli Lilly and Company-Elanco Research Award
ASM's oldest and most prestigious prize, it rewards fundamental research of unusual merit in microbiology or immunology by an individual who has not reached his/her 45th birthday

  •     2017 Winner: Harmit Malik, Ph.D.

Merck Irving S. Sigal Memorial Award
Recognizes and awards excellence in basic research in medical microbiology and infectious diseases

  •     2017 Winner: Jesse Bloom, Ph.D.

Raymond W. Sarber Awards
Recognize students at the undergraduate and pre-doctoral levels for research excellence and potential

  •     2017 Winner: Natalia Porcek-Hubbs, B.S. (Graduate);  Quang Nguyen, B.S. (Undergraduate)

Young Investigator Awards
Recognize and reward early career scientists for research excellence and potential in microbiology and infectious disease

  •     2017 Winners: Jennifer Gaddy, Ph.D.; Katherine Ralston, Ph.D.; Kristin Parent, Ph.D.

Clinical Research Awards
ASM Award in Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology
Honors a distinguished scientist in the field of clinical or diagnostic immunology

  •     2017 Winner: George Carlone, Ph.D.

Award for Research in Clinical Microbiology
Honors a distinguished clinical microbiologist for outstanding research accomplishments leading to or forming the foundation for important applications in clinical microbiology

  •     2017 Winner: Samir Saha, Ph.D.

Diagnostics Young Investigator Award
Recognizes research excellence and potential to further the educational or research objectives of an outstanding young clinical scientist

  •     2017 Winner: Marc Couturier, Ph.D.

Scherago-Rubin Award
Recognizes an outstanding, bench-level clinical microbiologist

  •     2017 Winner: Michael Brandon, B.S.


Education Awards
ASM Graduate Microbiology Teaching Award
Honors an individual for exemplary teaching of microbiology and mentoring of students at the graduate and postgraduate levels (e.g., graduate school, medical school, or other health professional schools) and for encouraging students to subsequent achievement

  •     2017 Winner: Thomas Dela Cruz, Dr. Rer. Nat.

Carski Foundation Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award

Recognizes a mature individual for distinguished teaching of microbiology to undergraduate (prebaccalaureate) students and for encouraging them to subsequent achievement

  •     2017 Winner: Patricia Shields, Ph.D.

D.C. White Research and Mentoring Award
Recognizes distinguished accomplishments in interdisciplinary research and mentoring in microbiology

  •     2017 Winner: Stephen Goff, Ph.D.

William A. Hinton Research Training Award
Honors outstanding contributions toward fostering the research training of underrepresented minorities in microbiology

  •     2017 Winner: Steven Finkel, Ph.D.

Service Awards
ASM Lifetime Achievement Award
ASM's premier award for sustained contributions to the microbiological sciences

  •      2017 Winner: Kyung Kwon-Chung, Ph.D.

Hardy Diagnostics ABMM/ABMLI Professional Recognition Award
Recognizes an ABMM or ABMLI Diplomate for outstanding contributions to the professional recognition of clinical microbiologists and/or immunologists.

  •     2017 Winner: Susan Sharp, Ph.D.

Hologic Joseph Public Health Award
Honors a distinguished microbiologist who has exhibited exemplary leadership and service in the field of public health.

  •     2017 Winners: Douglas Lowy, M.D. and John Schiller, Ph.D.

MilliporeSigma Alice C. Evans Award
Honors a member of ASM for major contributions toward the full participation and advancement of women in microbiology.

  •     2017 Winner: Diane Griffin, M.D., Ph.D.

Sonnenwirth Award for Leadership in Clinical Microbiology
Recognizes a distinguished microbiologist for the promotion of innovation in clinical laboratory science, dedication to ASM, and the advancement of clinical microbiology as a profession

  •     2017 Winner: Richard Thomson, Ph.D.