33 ASM Members Named AAAS Fellows

Washington, DC - December 15, 2016 - This year, 33 members of the American Society for Microbiology were named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as a AAAS Fellow is a prestigious honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. This year, 391 members of AAAS were awarded this honor for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association’s 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer.

New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold-and-blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, February 18, from 8:00 AM to 10:00 AM at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2017 AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston, Mass.

ASM members were named Fellows in the sections on Medical Sciences; Agriculture, Food, and Renewable Resources; Biological Sciences; and Chemistry.  Congratulations to all our members who have received this honor!

Joseph Margolick, Johns Hopkins University  
Liise-anne Pirofski, Albert Einstein College of Medicine  
Terrence Stull, Phoenix Children's Research Institute  
Thomas Walsh,  Weill Cornell Medicine

David R. Benson, University of Connecticut
Kelly A. Brayton, Washington State University
Karen-Beth Goldberg Scholthof, Texas A&M University

John Howard Adams, University of South Florida
José M. Argüello, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Paul Babitzke, Pennsylvania State University
Hannah V. Carey, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Xiaodong Cheng, University of Texas Health Science Center
Janice E. Clements, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Thomas E. Dever, National Institute of Child Health and Human Development/NIH
George Fu Gao, Chinese Academy of Sciences/Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Joel Mitchell Goodman, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School
Steven R. Goodman, University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Max E. Gottesman, Columbia University
Wolf-Dietrich Heyer, University of California, Davis
Neil Hunter, University of California, Davis/Howard Hughes Medical Institute  
Michael Lorenz, University of Texas McGovern Medical School at Houston  
Mona Nemer, University of Ottawa (Canada)
Ann Palmenberg, University of Wisconsin-Madison
James C. Paulson, The Scripps Research Institute
Kathleen Postle, Pennsylvania State University
John Franklin Rawls, Duke University  
Monica Roth, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey  
Karla J. F. Satchell, Northwestern University  
Phillip Andrew Scott, University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine  
Patricia A. Sobecky, University of Alabama  
Janet L. Stein, University of Vermont College of Medicine
Surachai Supattapone, Dartmouth College  

Paul A. Aristoff, Aristoff Consulting