AMR Sept Banner v2

ASM Attends UN General Assembly

ASM President, Susan Sharp, Ph.D., joined global leaders at the United Nations General Assembly in New York today in a historical meeting to focus on the commitment to fight AMR.

UN General Assembly Focuses on AMR

Leaders at the UN General Assembly draft a plan for coordinated, cross-cutting efforts to improve the current state of AMR.

Superbugs are a 'Fundamental Threat'

If antibiotics were telephones, we would still be calling each other using clunky rotary dials and copper lines," Stefano Bertuzzi, CEO of ASM, told NBC News.
Become a member today!
Submit Abstracts for Biothreats 2017
Antibacterial Development Conference

2014 Cubist-ICAAC Award Laureate

CUBIST Wainberg Mark

The winner of the 2014 Cubist-ICAAC Award is Mark A. Wainberg, Ph.D., of the Jewish General Hospital and McGill University in Montreal, for his seminal work in the field of HIV/AIDS. According to Carlo Federico Perno, University of Rome, “Wainberg has markedly contributed to the HIV chemotherapy field through his pioneering research on drug resistance and drug development.”

Currently a Professor of Medicine and Microbiology and Immunology at McGill University and Director of the McGill University AIDS Centre, Wainberg has made significant contributions to the field of HIV drug resistance including when he, in collaboration BioChem Pharma Inc, initially identified 3TC as an anti-viral drug. His laboratory continues to work in the field of drug development and drug resistance, and is working on efforts to achieve a cure for HIV infection. From 1998-2000, he served as President of the International AIDS Society with responsibilities that included organizing the XIIIth International Congress on AIDS in Durban, South Africa. For his outstanding work Wainberg has been elected fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, Officer of the Order of Canada and was the recipient of the Killam Prize in Health Sciences for 2012.

Wainberg has authored over 500 research papers and 100 reviews and commentary articles that have appeared in the scientific literature. He is co- Editor-in-Chief of Retrovirology and Journal of the International AIDS Society, and is a member of the editorial committees of multiple other journals.




Back to the Cubist-ICAAC Award