Research Awards

Click on each award to view nominating instructions and deadlines.

ASM Lifetime Achievement Award (sponsored by AbbVie)
ASM's premier award for sustained contributions to the microbiological sciences. 

Abbott Award in Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology 
Honors a distinguished scientist in the field of clinical or diagnostic immunology. 

BD Award for Research in Clinical Microbiology
Honors a distinguished clinical microbiologist for outstanding research accomplishments leading to or forming the foundation for important applications in clinical microbiology. 

Cubist-ICAAC Award
ASM's premier award in antimicrobial chemotherapy research. 

DuPont Industrial Biosciences Award in Applied and Environmental Microbiology
Recognizes distinguished achievement in research and development in applied (non-clinical) and environmental microbiology.

Eli Lilly and Company-Elanco Research Award
ASM's oldest and most prestigious prize, it rewards fundamental research of unusual merit in microbiology or immunology by an individual who has not reached his/her 45th birthday. 

Gen-Probe Joseph Public Health Award

Honors a distinguished microbiologist who has exhibited exemplary leadership and service in the field of public health.

GlaxoSmithKline International Member of the Year Award
Honors a distinguished microbiologist who has exhibited exemplary leadership in the international microbiological community. 

Maurice Hilleman/Merck Award
ASM’s premier award for major contributions to pathogenesis, vaccine discovery, vaccine development, and/or control of vaccine-preventable diseases.

ICAAC Young Investigator Awards
Recognize and reward early career scientists for research excellence and potential in microbiology and infectious diseases.

Merck Irving S. Sigal Memorial Awards
Recognize and award excellence in basic research in medical microbiology and infectious diseases.

Promega Biotechnology Research Award
Honors outstanding contributions to the application of biotechnology through fundamental microbiological research and development. 

Raymond W. Sarber Awards
Recognize students at the undergraduate and predoctoral levels for research excellence and potential.

Scherago-Rubin Award
Recognizes an outstanding, bench-level clinical microbiologist. 

Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics Young Investigator Award
Recognizes research excellence and potential to further the educational or research objectives of an outstanding young clinical scientist. 

USFCC/J. Roger Porter Award
Recognizes outstanding efforts by a scientist who has demonstrated the importance of microbial biodiversity through sustained curatorial or stewardship activities for a major resource used by the scientific community. 

D.C. White Research and Mentoring Award
Recognizes distinguished accomplishments in interdisciplinary research and mentoring in microbiology.

back to all awards