Scherago-Rubin Award

Recognizes an outstanding, bench-level clinical microbiologist. The award was established by the late Sally Jo Rubin, an active member of ASM's Clinical Microbiology Division, in honor of her grandfather, Professor Morris Scherago.

The nominee must be a non-doctoral-level clinical microbiologist involved primarily in routine diagnostic work, rather than in research, who has distinguished himself or herself with excellent performance in the clinical laboratory.


A framed certificate and a cash prize of $2,000 to defray costs of attending the ASM General Meeting where the award is presented.


May 15th. 

Nominations will be considered without updating for three years. Self-nominations and more than one nomination per nominee will not be accepted. Only one nominating form and two supporting forms are accepted per nomination. The nominator must be the nominee's supervisor. The two supporters should preferably be people from different institutions who are familiar with the nominee's laboratory accomplishments. Nominations must consist of the following:

ASM awards are granted at the discretion of award selection committees and may not be awarded every year. 

Past Laureates
Sally Jo Rubin and Family