Raymond W. Sarber Awards

Recognize students at the undergraduate and predoctoral levels for research excellence and potential. The awards honor Raymond W. Sarber for his contributions to the growth and advancement of ASM.

Nominees must be a student at the undergraduate or predoctoral level, attending an accredited institution in the United States, in an academic program involving microbiology. Two awards are presented at the ASM General Meeting, one to an undergraduate and one to a graduate student. They will be judged separately.
Extended to July 7, 2017.


Nominations will be considered without updating for three years. Self-nominations and more than one nomination per nominee will not be accepted. Only one nominating form and two references are accepted per nomination. The nominator may be a supervisor or mentor to the nominee and the supporters may be academic advisors or colleagues of the nominee. Please note: the references are not required to submit statements; they will only be contacted if the committee requires more information regarding the nomination. Nominations must consist of the following:

  • Curriculum vitae, including a list of publications, emailed to academy@asmusa.org
  • Statement, no longer than two pages, from the student outlining academic achievements, research accomplishments, and future career goals, emailed to academy@asmusa.org
  • Nominating form


ASM awards are granted at the discretion of award selection committees and may not be awarded every year.

Past Laureates
Sponsor: ASM