GlaxoSmithKline International Member of the Year Award

Honors a distinguished microbiologist who exhibited exemplary leadership in the international microbiological community. It recognizes an international ASM member for education, communication, research, and advancement of the profession to the international microbiology community while demonstrating a commitment to the ASM.

The nominee can be any international member of ASM who has made major contributions toward the advancement of the microbiological sciences within the international community through education, research, communication, and leadership.  The nominee must not have served on the International Board, the International Education Committee or the Committee on Global Engagement within the past two years.

A commemorative piece and travel to the ASM General Meeting where the laureate will deliver the GSK Award lecture.

July 1.

Nominations will be considered without updating for three years. Self-nominations and more than one nomination per nominee will not be accepted. Only one nominating form and two supporting forms are accepted per nomination. The two supporters must be persons other than the nominator who are familiar with the nominee's qualifications and accomplishments. Only one of the three individuals involved in the nomination may be employed at the nominee's institution. The nominator and supporters must not share employers. Nominations must consist of the following:


ASM awards are granted at the discretion of award selection committees and may not be awarded every year. 

View Past Laureates
Sponsor: GlaxoSmithKline