Antimicrobial Research Award

ASM's premier award honoring outstanding accomplishment in antimicrobial research.

The nominee must be actively engaged in research involving development of new agents, investigation of antimicrobial action or resistance to antimicrobial agents, and/or the pharmacology, toxicology or clinical use of those agents. The nominee must not have served on the ICAAC Program Committee within the past two years.


A commemorative piece and travel to ASM Microbe where the laureate will deliver the Antimicrobial Research Award lecture.

May 14th 

Nominations will be considered without updating for three years. Self-nominations and more than one nomination per nominee will not be accepted. Only one nominating form and two supporting forms are accepted per nomination. The two supporters must be persons other than the nominator who are familiar with the nominee's qualifications and accomplishments. Only one of the three individuals involved in the nomination may be employed at the nominee's institution. The nominator and supporters must not share employers. Nominations must consist of the following:

ASM awards are granted at the discretion of award selection committees and may not be awarded every year.

2014 Laureate: Mark Wainberg
Past Laureates
Sponsor: Cubist Pharmaceuticals