2014 ASM Founders Distinguished Service Award Laureate


FOUNDERS Casadevall

Arturo Casadevall, M.D., Ph.D., Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Yeshiva University, Bronx, New York, has won the 2014 ASM Founders Distinguished Service Award for his commitment to ASM. Casadevall, an American Academy of Microbiology (AAM) Fellow, is the founding Editor and Editor-in-Chief of mBio, ASM’s first open access journal. According to Richard Losick, Harvard University, “this flagship journal brings the Society to the realm of open access publishing and is centrally important to the future of ASM.”

Casadevall received both his M.D. and Ph.D. degrees from New York University. Currently, Casadevall is the Leo and Julia Forchheimer Professor of Microbiology & Immunology at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine, and Chair of the department. His major research interests include fungal pathogenesis and the mechanism of antibody action.

In addition to his work with mBio, Casadevall serves as Program Chair for the ASM General Meeting. He has served on numerous ASM committees, including the AAM Committee on Elections and ASM Communications Committee. In addition to his service to ASM, he has also volunteered on the National Science Advisory Board for Biosecurity and co-chairs the NIAID Board of Scientific Counselors.

Since joining the AECOM faculty in 1992, Casadevall has mentored dozens of graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty. As a teacher he is highly regarded as evident by the awards he has received, including ASM’s 2008 William Hinton Research Training Award for mentoring scientists from underrepresented groups.


Back to the ASM Founders Distinguished Service Award