lairmore michaelDr. Lairmore is a scientist who bridges multiple disciplines to address basic questions related to viral causes of cancer. He is Professor and Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, College of Veterinary Medicine and Associate Director for Shared Resources at The Ohio State University (OSU), Comprehensive Cancer Center. His research has provided new insights into the biology of the human retroviruses and the understanding of viral-associated carcinogenesis. Dr. Lairmore developed one of the first models of AIDS-associated pediatric pneumonia. After developing a reference laboratory at the Centers for Disease Control for human T-cell leukemia viruses, he discovered the first HTLV-2 infection in native Indian populations in Central America, which was subsequently recognized as an endemic infection among American Indian populations throughout North and South America. Dr. Lairmore has been funded continuously by the National Institutes of Health since 1992 (totally nearly $30 million in direct costs) including a role as principal investigator of a National Cancer Institute Program Project Grant (CA100730 2003-2013). He has authored or co-authored over 175 scientific publications. His publications include a number of contributions in prestigious scientific journals, including The Proceedings of the National Academy of Science, Journal of the National Cancer Institute, Journal of Biological Chemistry, Journal of American Medical Association, Annals of Internal Medicine, PLOS One, American Journal of Pathology, Journal of Immunology, Journal of Experimental Medicine, and Blood. These findings have provided for significant breakthroughs in the molecular and cellular mechanisms that control HTLV-1 replication. He has been appointed as a member of numerous National Institutes of Health Study Sections and scientific panels. He is director of a post doctoral NIH T-32 training grant entitled, Mouse Pathobiology: Models of Human Disease. Dr. Lairmore is the recipient of numerous academic awards including the Pfizer Award for Research Excellence Award. In 2004 he was selected as a Distinguished Scholar by OSU and the following year was selected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences (AAAS). He was awarded the Hero of Hope Award by the American Cancer Society in 2008. He was elected as a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies in 2010. His teaching abilities have been recognized with the Dean's Excellence in Graduate Education Award. He has served as primary advisor and mentor for over 25 pre- and post-doctoral students, several of which went on to hold leadership positions at academic institutions and in the pharmaceutical industry.