Moselio Schaechter Distinguished Service Award

This award, named in honor of Professor Moselio Schaechter, former ASM President, honors an ASM member who has shown exemplary leadership and commitment towards the substantial furthering of the profession of microbiology in research, education or technology in the developing world.

Individuals (for example: microbiologists who have been instrumental in setting up properly functioning clinical microbiology laboratories or successful biotechnology services based on microbiology; academicians who have developed high quality undergraduate or graduate training programs; researchers who have demonstrated leadership in the context of the region) from the upper-middle, lower-middle, and low-income countries as determined per World Bank’s classification. The nominee must be a national or a permanent resident of a qualifying country and have or have had a full-time professional appointment in the microbiological sciences or a related field for at least ten years in a country or region of the developing world.  The nominees may not be currently serving on any ASM Board or Committee and can not be an ASM Ambassador at the time of the nomination deadline.  The nominee must be an active ASM member at the time of nomination deadline. 

Deadline for Applications: 
This award will not be given in 2017. 

Nominations will be considered without updating for three years. Self-nominations and more than one nomination per nominee will not be accepted. Only one nominating form and two supporting forms are accepted per nomination. The two supporters must be persons other than the nominator who are familiar with the nominee's qualifications and accomplishments. Only one of the three individuals involved in the nomination may be employed at the nominee's institution. The nominator and supporters must not share employers. Nominations must consist of the following:


ASM awards are granted at the discretion of award selection committees and may not be awarded every year. 

Past Laureates