The Membership Board oversees the recruitment and retention of members on the national level, and provides resources and management support for a robust national network of regional and local professional activities through ASM Branches and Student and Postdoctoral Chapters.  The Board supports the professional development of its members, including those who are underrepresented in the sciences, by providing services such as career placement, mentoring, networking opportunities, and professional training.  In addition, the Board maintains the Center for the History of Microbiology/ASM Archives, thereby preserving the historic contributions of microbiologists and the Society for future generations.

2014-2015 Membership Board

Chair, Membership Board
Victor J. DiRita, Ph.D. (’15)
University of Michigan
5641 Medical Sciences II
1150 Catherine Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Phone: 734-936-3804
Fax: 734-764-3562

Chair, ASM Distinguished Lecturer Committee
Gerri Hall, Ph.D. (’15)
Retired Consultant, Cleveland Clinic
9611 Putnam Road
Forestville, NY  14062
Michael G. Schmidt, Ph.D. (’17)
Director, Office of Special Programs and
Professor and Vice Chair
Department of Microbiology and Immunology 
Medical University of South Carolina
173 Ashley Avenue BSB 206 B
PO Box 250504
Charleston, SC  29425-0504
Phone: 843-792-9532 
Fax: 843-792-2464

Chair, Career Development Committee
Eleanor M Jennings, M.S., Ph.D. (’15)
Project Environmental Scientist
Principal Microbiologist
Total Environmental Concepts, Inc.
3308 Mount Vernon Avenue
Alexandria, VA  22305
Phone: 703-567-4346
Fax: 703-567-3487

Chair, Career Development Grants for Postdoctoral Women Committee
Millicent (“Mimi”) Goldschmidt, Ph.D. (’17)
School of Dentistry
The University of Texas Health Science Center Houston
Department of Diagnostic and Biomedical Sciences
7500 Cambridge
Houston, TX  77054
Phone: 713-486-4554

Chair, Center for the History of Microbiology/ASM Archives Committee
James A. Poupard, Ph.D. (’16)
3612 Earlham Street
Philadelphia, PA  19129
Phone: 215-438-1368

Chair, Student Membership Committee
Wade Bell, Ph.D. (’15)
Professor of Biology
Virginia Military Institute
203 Maury Brooke Building
Lexington, VA  24450-2802
Phone: 540-464-7432
Fax: 540-464-7761

Chair, Underrepresented Members Committee

Ex officio Member:

John Meyers
Director, Membership Services 
ASM Headquarters 
1752 N Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036 
Phone: 202-942-9253 
Fax: 202-942-9346