The Membership Board oversees the recruitment and retention of members on the national level, and provides resources and management support for a robust national network of regional and local professional activities through ASM Branches and Student and Postdoctoral Chapters.  The Board supports the professional development of its members, including those who are underrepresented in the sciences, by providing services such as career placement, mentoring, networking opportunities, and professional training.  In addition, the Board maintains the Center for the History of Microbiology/ASM Archives, thereby preserving the historic contributions of microbiologists and the Society for future generations.

2016-2017 Membership Board

Chair, Membership Board
Victor J. DiRita, Ph.D. (’18)
Rudolph Hugh Professor & Chair
Michigan State University
Department of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
2215 BPS
567 Wilson Road
East Lansing, MI 48824
Phone: 517-884-5292

Chair, ASM Distinguished Lecturer Committee
Heidi Kaplan, Ph.D. ('18)
Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
University of Texas Medical School at Houston
6431 Fannin Street, MSB1.206
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: 713-500-5448
Fax: 713-500-5499
Michael G. Schmidt, Ph.D. (’17)
Director, Office of Special Programs and
Professor and Vice Chair
Department of Microbiology and Immunology 
Medical University of South Carolina
173 Ashley Avenue BSB 206 B
PO Box 250504
Charleston, SC  29425-0504
Phone: 843-792-9532 
Fax: 843-792-2464

Chair, Career Development Committee
Eleanor M. Jennings, M.S., Ph.D. (’18)
Principal Microbiologist
Total Environmental Concepts, Inc.
3308 Mount Vernon Avenue
Alexandria, VA  22305
Phone: 703-567-4346
Fax: 703-567-3487

Chair, Career Development Grants for Postdoctoral Women Committee
Millicent (“Mimi”) Goldschmidt, Ph.D. (’17)
School of Dentistry
The University of Texas Health Science Center Houston
Department of Diagnostic and Biomedical Sciences
7500 Cambridge
Houston, TX  77054
Phone: 713-486-4554

Chair, Center for the History of Microbiology/ASM Archives Committee
Melanie Armstrong, Ph.D. (’19)
Environmental Management Program
Western State Colorado University
600 N. Adams Street
Gunnison, CO  81231
Divisional Group II Representative/Chair, Scientific Advisory Group
Peggy A. Cotter, Ph.D. ('17)
Department of Microbiology & Immunology
School of Medicine
University of North Carolina
Campus Box C.B.#7290
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7920
Phone: 919-966-2627

Chair, Student Membership Committee
Wade Bell, Ph.D. (’18)
Professor of Biology
Virginia Military Institute
203 Maury Brooke Building
Lexington, VA  24450-2802
Phone: 540-464-7432
Fax: 540-464-7761

Ex officio Member:

Jason Rao
Senior Director, Member Engagement and Innovation 
ASM Headquarters 
1752 N Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036 
Phone: 202-942-9293