Newsroom Search

News Media Contacts

Aleea Khan
Senior Manager, Science Communication Strategy

Joanna Urban
Public Relations Coordinator

Subscribe to our listserv & receive press releases and other updates by email

Tuesday, 14 March 2017 14:42

73 Fellows Elected to the American Academy of Microbiology

Written by 
Published in Press Releases

In February, the American Academy of Microbiology elected 73 new Fellows. Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology, an honorific leadership group within the ASM, are elected annually through a highly selective, peer-review process, based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology.

There are over 2,400 Fellows representing all subspecialties of the microbial sciences and involved in basic and applied research, teaching, public health, industry, and government service. In addition, Fellows hail from all around the globe. The “Class of 2017” includes Fellows from the U.S., Germany, Australia, Canada, India, China, and the United Kingdom.

The 2017 Academy Fellows are:

Alejandro Aballay, School of Medicine, Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, OR

Marc Allard, US Food and Drug Administration, Silver Spring, MD

Igor Almeida, University of Texas at El Paso, El Paso, TX

David Andes, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI

David Aronoff, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN

Bernard Arulanandam, University of Texas at San Antonio, San Antonio, TX

Paul Babitzke, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA

Douglas Bartlett, University of California, San Diego, La Jolla, CA

Kenneth Bayles, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE

Samuel Behar, University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester, MA

Brendan Bohannan, University of Oregon, Eugene, OR

Katherine Borkovich, University of California, Riverside, Riverside, CA

Axel Brakhage, Friedrich Schiller University Jena, Jena, Germany

Melissa Brown, Flinders University, Adelaide, Australia

Barbara Burleigh, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, Boston, MA

Robert Burnap, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK

Lori Burrows, McMaster University, Hamilton, ON, Canada

Anthony Campagnari, State University of New York at Buffalo, Buffalo, NY

Anuradha Chowdhary, University of Delhi, New Delhi, India

Laurie Comstock, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, MA

Sean Crosson, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL

Frank DeLeo, NIAID Rocky Mountain Laboratories, Hamilton, MT

Rob Edwards, San Diego State University, San Diego, CA

Alain Filloux, Imperial College London, London, United Kingdom

Robert Finberg, University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester, MA

Michael Fischbach, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, CA

Charlotte Gaydos, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD

Kathleen Gensheimer, US Food and Drug Administration, Silver Spring, MD

Mahmoud Ghannoum, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, OH

Elodie Ghedin, New York University, New York, NY

Michael Glickman, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY

Heidi Goodrich-Blair, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Knoxville, TN

Robert Hausinger, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI

William Hope, University of Liverpool, Liverpool, United Kingdom

Christopher Howe, University of Cambridge, Cambridge, United Kingdom

Peter Iwen, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE

Christine Jacobs-Wagner, Yale University, New Haven, CT

Sophia Kathariou, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC

Chaitan Khosla, Stanford University, Stanford, CA

Dimitrios Kontoyiannis, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX

Hans-Georg Krausslich, Heidelberg University, Heidelberg, Germany

Nathan Ledeboer, Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI

Richard Lewis, Newcastle University, Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom

Richard Locksley, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, CA

Katherine Luzuriaga, University of Massachusetts Medical School. Worcester, MA

Kira Makarova, National Center for Biotechnology Information, National Library of Medicine, Bethesda, MD

Richard Malley, Boston Children's Hospital, Boston, MA

Luciano Marraffini, Rockefeller University, New York, NY

Jennifer Martiny, University of California, Irvine, Irvine, CA

William Mohn, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada

Bradley Moore, University of California, San Diego, La Jolla, CA

Melanie Ott, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, CA

Justin Radolf, University of Connecticut Health Center, Farmington, CT

Laurence Rahme, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA

Nancy Reich Marshall, Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY

Louis Rice, Rhode Island Hospital, Providence, RI

Stefan Sarafianos, University of Missouri School of Medicine, Columbia, MO

Michael Savageau, University of California, Davis, Davis, CA

Photini Sinnis, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Baltimore, MD

Elizabeth Sockett, The University of Nottingham, Nottingham, United Kingdom

Rick Tarleton, University of Georgia, Athens, GA

Raphael Valdivia, Duke University School of Medicine, Durham, NC

Russell Vance, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA

Matt Welch, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA

Nancy Wengenack, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN

Timothy Yahr, Carver College of Medicine, Iowa City, IA

Robert Yarchoan, National Cancer Institute, Bethesda, MD

Vincent Young, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI

Edward Yu, Iowa State University, Ames, IA

Fidel Zavala, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD

Lianhui Zhang, South China Agricultural University, Guangzhou, China

Igor Zhulin, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN

Adam Zlotnick, Indiana University Bloomington, Bloomington, IN

Last modified on Friday, 27 October 2017 15:46