The National Registry of Certified Microbiologists (NRCM) certified professional microbiologists at the baccalaureate, master's, and doctoral levels in biological safety, food safety and quality, and pharmaceutical and medical device. The NRCM certified microbiologists in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and on six continents.

The National Registry of Certified Microbiologists (NRCM) is pleased to welcome 8 newly certified Registrants for January 2018 and 11 newly certified Registrants for June 2018.

The NRCM permanently phased out its exam process and no longer accepts new Registrants. A FAQ about the phase out can be found here. The NRCM will continue to serve its Registrants through recertification, maintaining an active roll of Registrants and verification of certification status.

start faq


The NRCM encourages its certified individuals, Registrants, to keep up- to-date with the concepts, skills, and issues of importance to their field through voluntary recertification. To recertify, Registrants must complete an application AND participate in 30 hours of continuing education over a three year period. The recertification fees are $75 for ASM contributing and premium members and $150 for ASM supporting members and non-members AND three years of annual dues must be paid. Recertification demonstrates your continued commitment to maintaining a standard of excellence in the field.


If you have retired from remunerative employment and have paid your annual NRCM dues, you are eligible for Emeritus status. Effective January 2016, Registrants holding active status may make a formal request to the Board for Emeritus status if they have ten or more years of active standing through certification/recertification, are no longer employed full-time, and do not require NRCM certification for their employment. The Board reserves the right to rescind Emeritus status if a Registrant does not meet the employment guidelines set forth. If you would like to request Emeritus status complete and submit the first page of the recertification application.

Clinical Microbiology Certification

The American College of Microbiology and the American Society for Clinical Pathology (ASCP) conjointly develop and administer certification exams to those with bachelor’s and master’s degrees and who work in clinical microbiology. Individuals must meet ASCP eligibility requirements to take the exam. Those who pass the exam are certified as a Technologist in Microbiology (M) or Specialist in Microbiology (SM) by the ASCP and are issued a certificate with both organizations' names on it. For more information, visit their website.

Contact Us

National Registry of Certified Microbiologists
American Society for Microbiology
1752 N Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

tel: (202) 942-9281


end faq