The Board of the American College of Microbiology works to ensure that the principles and mission of the College are fulfilled through its programs.  The Board is chaired by the Dean of the College, who serves a three year term and may be reappointed once.  Also serving on the Board is the Chair of CPEP and each certification Board, as well as other members that are appointed as deemed necessary by the Dean.  The Board meets once annually. 

The principles that guide the College are:
  • Expertise. The College believes the protection and enhancement of public health require the professions of microbiology and immunology be practiced by individuals who have the training, knowledge, experience, and insight needed to perform at the highest level of proficiency.
  • Legitimacy. The College is committed to the maintenance of demonstrable reliability, validity, and fairness in its certification and accreditation programs and strives to ensure that its examinations certify only those individuals who are clearly at or above a high level of competence in the microbiology and immunology professions.
  • Integrity. The College expects its Diplomates and Registrants to adhere to the highest ethical standards of objectivity, accuracy, and honesty in the practice of their profession and to acquire and continuously maintain the level of knowledge necessary to perform at the highest level of competence.

The work of the College and its Board will reflect the highest standards of science, character, integrity, and collegiality in promoting the professions of microbiology and immunology, in supporting the health and well-being of the public, in developing critical alliances with partners, and in supporting the work of the professionals it certifies.

Richard B. Thomson, Jr., Ph.D., D(ABMM) ('17)
Dean, American College of Microbiology
NorthShore University HealthSystem, Chicago 
The University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine

Larry D. Gray, Ph.D., D(ABMM) ('16)
Chair, Committee on Postgraduate Educational Programs (CPEP)

Robert J. Hawley, Ph.D., SM(NRCM) ('17)
Chair, National Registry of Certified Microbiologists (NRCM)
Independent Consultant

Yvette S. McCarter, Ph.D., D(ABMM)('18)
Chair, American Board of Medical Microbiology (ABMM)
University of Florida

Amy Peace-Brewer, Ph.D., D(ABMLI) ('18)
Chair, American Board of Medical Laboratory Immunology (ABMLI)
Genova Diagnostics, Inc.




Joomla! Debug Console


Profile Information

Memory Usage

Database Queries