Saturday, 18 November 2017 14:53

In Memoriam: Milton J. Schlesinger

Milton J. Schlesinger, Ph.D., long-time member of ASM, and Professor Emeritus of Molecular Mcrobiology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, died on Friday, October 27, 2017, at his home in Berkeley, California.  Schlesinger was an eminent virologist, having authored nearly 200 papers and books, including key studies on heat shock proteins and protein modification. Among his most noted discoveries, he identified the first examples in vertebrate cells of heat-shock proteins, which cells produce when their normal proteins unfold as a result of high temperature or other stressful conditions. Heat-shock proteins refold the damaged proteins, helping the cell survive.  

Wednesday, 01 November 2017 14:32

In Memoriam: Leonard Mortenson

Leonard (Len) E. Mortenson enjoyed a long career doing pioneering research on bacterial nitrogen-fixation as well as educating students and postdoctoral associates, both in academia and in industrial laboratories.  Len passed away peacefully at his home in Willow Street, PA on October 30, 2017. He was 89.

Wednesday, 06 September 2017 11:38

In Memoriam: C.C. Wang

Molecular parasitologist and founding Editor-in-Chief of the ASM journal Eukaryotic Cell