American Board of Medical Laboratory Immunology (ABMLI)

The American Board of Medical Laboratory Immunology certifies the expertise of doctoral-level immunologists seeking to direct laboratories engaged in the practice of medical laboratory immunology. ABMLI certification is recognized by federal and state governmental agencies as a significant component toward meeting licensure requirements to direct laboratories engaged in the microbiological diagnosis of human disease. It is recognized under the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988 final rule and in 11 states that require licensure: Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Montana, Nevada, New York, North Dakota, Rhode Island, Tennessee, and West Virginia. 

UPDATE: The ABMLI will phase out offering its certification exam; the last exam will be offered in August 2017. The ABMLI will continue to serve its Diplomates though through recertification, maintaining an active roll of Diplomates and verification of certification status.  The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services has confirmed that they will continue to recognize ABMLI certification as a personnel requirement for high-complexity laboratory directors even though the exam will no longer be offered. Learn more about the phase out. Updated June 15, 2015.


2015 Newly Certified Diplomates
The ABMLI certified six new Diplomates on October 5, 2015.

ABMLI Exam Information
Information about eligibility, exam content, pass rate, practice questions, and test administration. The application deadline for the August exam is June 1.

ABMLI Diplomates Directory
Search for fellow Diplomates and update your contact information.

The ABMLI requires its Diplomates to recertify by continuing education once every three years. The deadline is January 31. 

Verification of ABMLI certification is not available online. If you are interested in verifying the certification of an ABMLI Diplomate, please email your request to with an authorization of release form signed by the Diplomate in question.