American Board of Medical Microbiology (ABMM)

The American Board of Medical Microbiology certifies the expertise of doctoral-level microbiologists seeking to direct medical and public health microbiology laboratories. ABMM certification is recognized by federal and state governmental agencies as a significant component toward meeting licensure requirements to direct laboratories engaged in the microbiological diagnosis of human disease. It is recognized under the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988 final rule and in all 12 states that require licensure: California, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Montana, Nevada, New York, North Dakota, Rhode Island, Tennessee, and West Virginia.

2014 ABMM Diplomates
August 2014
The ABMM is pleased to announce 20 newly certified Diplomates.

ABMM Exam Information
Information about eligibility, exam content, pass rate, practice questions, and test administration. The application deadline for the June 2015 exam is April 1, 2015.

ABMM Diplomates Directory
Search for fellow Diplomates and update your contact information.

Recertification (Updated February 3, 2014)
The ABMM requires its Diplomates to recertify by continuing education once every three years. The deadline is January 31.