2014 General Meeting Award Laureates

The American Society for Microbiology is proud to announce the following 2014 award winners:

 ASM LIFETIME Curtiss ASM Lifetime Achievement Award (sponsored by Abbvie)
Roy Curtiss, III, Ph.D., Arizona State University, Phoenix

ABBOTT Yarchoan Abbott Award in Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology
Robert Yarchoan, M.D., National Cancer Institute, Bethesda, Maryland
FOUNDERS Casadevall ASM Founders Distinguished Service Award
Arturo Casadevall, M.D., Ph.D., Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Yeshiva University, Bronx, New York
GRAD Payne


ASM Graduate Microbiology Teaching Award
Shelley Payne, Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin

BD Caliendo BD Award for Research in Clinical Microbiology
Angela M. Caliendo, M.D., Ph.D., Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island
BIOMERIEUX Larone bioMérieux Sonnenwirth Award for Leadership in Clinical Microbiology
Davise Larone, Ph.D., Weill Cornell Medical College, New York City, New York
CARSKI Suchman Carski Foundation Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award
Erica Suchman, Ph.D., Colorado State University, Fort Collins

DuPont Industrial Biosciences in Applied and Environmental Microbiology
Douglas G. Capone, Ph.D., University of Southern California, Los Angeles
ELI LILLY Fitzgerald Eli Lilly and Company-Elanco Research Award
Katherine Fitzgerald, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester

EMD Millipore Alice C. Evans Award
Bonnie L. Bassler, Ph.D., Princeton University, New Jersey

GEN PROBE Pearson Gen-Probe Joseph Public Health Award
James Pearson, Dr.P.H., Virginia Division of Consolidated Lab Services, Richmond, VA
ABMMABMLI Doern Gary Hardy Diagnostic ABMM/ABMLI Professional Recognition Award
Gary Doern, Ph.D., University of Iowa College of Medicine, Iowa City
HILLEMAN Granoff Maurice Hilleman/Merck Award
Dan Granoff, M.D., Children's Hospital Oakland Research Institute, California
HINTON Lima William A. Hinton Research Training Award
Maria F. Lima, Ph.D., Meharry Medical College, Nashville, Tennessee
SIGAL Gack Merck Irving S. Sigal Memorial Award
Michaela Gack, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts
SIGAL Carvalho Merck Irving S. Sigal Memorial Award
Luiz Pedro Sório de Carvalho, Ph.D., MRC National Institute for Medical Research, London, United Kingdom
PROMEGA Messing Promega Biotechnology Research Award
Joachim Messing, Dr. rer. nat, Waksman Institute of Microbiology, Rutgers University, Piscataway, New Jersey
SARBER Hardwick

Raymond W. Sarber Award
Kara Hardwick, Winthrop University, Rock Hill, South Carolina
SARBER Coleman Raymond W. Sarber Award
Fadie Coleman, Boston University School of Medicine, Massachusetts

Moselio Schaechter Distinguished Service Award (sponsored by GSK)
Yogendra Singh, Ph.D., Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology (IGIB), Delhi, India
SCHERAGO Cunningham Scherago-Rubin Award
Scott Cunningham, MS, MT(ASCP)SM, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota
SIEMENS Pinsky Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics Young Investigator Award
Benjamin Pinsky, M.D., Ph.D., Stanford University School of Medicine, California
USFCC Dewhirst USFCC/J. Roger Porter Award
Floyd E. Dewhirst, DDS, Ph.D., The Forsyth Institute, Cambridge, Massachusetts
DC WHITE Leadbetter

D.C. White Research and Mentoring Award
Edward Leadbetter, Ph.D., Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Massachusetts