Preliminary Program

exhibit sponsor ad

Important Dates 

May 21, 2018:
Advance registration deadline
June 1, 2018:
Exhibits and sponsorship deadline
June 21, 2018:
Final Registration deadline

Program Committee Chair
Jeffrey Olimpo, PhD

Program Committee Vice-Chair
Jaclyn Madden, MS

All Program Committee Members

Use #ASMCUE and follow @ASMicrobiology on Twitter and Facebook.

2018 ASMCUE AgarArtPlate square  

Agar Art by: Kimberly Payne, 
University of Pittsburgh 

"I began attending ASMCUE nine years ago. My involvement with ASMCUE inspired me as an adjunct professor to pursue a PhD in science education. I've benefited both professionally and personally from becoming involved in this wonderful conference."
Andrea Rediske, University of Central Florida, Orlando, FL

Travel Awards

The American Society for Microbiology (ASM) offers a travel award to increase faculty's knowledge and skills in the microbiological sciences. A second goal of the program is to increase participation from a larger group of biology faculty to work closely with ASM to improve undergraduate microbiology in the 21st century.

The award is a $750 travel subsidy presented upon completion of travel and submission of receipts for ASMCUE travel, lodging, and/or registration expenses.

Applications are closed.



  • Be an active ASM member
  • Teach an undergraduate microbiology course or participates in outreach activities related to microbiology
  • Not be a recipient of substantial federal funding or any other ASM travel award

Criteria for Selection

  • Significance of teaching experience and/or outreach activities
  • Statement of teaching philosophy
  • Potential to contribute and lead
  • Commitment to education

Application Procedure

PART 1: Candidates for both tracks must complete a short online form providing the following information:

  • Contact information
  • General information
  • Have you received previous ASMCUE® Travel Awards?
    • If so, which award and what year(s)?
  • How did you hear about this program?
  • Gender
  • Ethnicity or racial background
  • Highest education level
  • Type of position you currently hold
  • The percentage of your professional activity dedicated to the following: Teaching, Research, Service, and Other (please specify)
  • The primary type(s) of students you teach
  • The primary delivery system you use for teaching
  • Educational history (degrees, dates, institutions)
  • List of previous experience working with students through teaching and/or outreach or teaching history for the last five years (institution, names of courses, dates, enrollment)
  • List of professional memberships held in the last five years
  • List your current (since 2013) research activities including presentations, publications, grants and awards
  • Describe your leadership roles in educational, professional, and community activities (Limit response to 150 words)
  • Describe the challenges you face in remaining current in microbiology and microbiology education (Limit response to 150 words)
  • Describe your teaching philosophy or current approach to teaching (Limit response to 150 words)
  • Describe what you hope to gain by participating in ASMCUE® and how the conference will benefit you, your students, and your institution (Limit response to 150 words)
  • Describe your access to campus-based and/or other funding sources.

PART 2: A letter of recommendation from your department chair or dean addressing your commitment to education and the institution's commitment to your participation in this program must be provided. The letter must originate from the advocate's e-mail account. Send the support letter to

ASMCUE Textbook Travel Award

The ASMCUE Travel Award Review Committee will select one recipient from the travel award applicant pool as the winner of the ASMCUE Textbook Travel Award. Funding for the Textbook Travel Award derives from a special endowment created in 2008 by several textbook authors committed to faculty development and ASMCUE. The authors sponsoring this endowment include Robert Bauman at Amarillo College, Texas; Barry Chess at Pasadena City College, California; Marjorie Cowan at Miami University, Ohio; Jeffrey Pommerville at Glendale Community College, Arizona; Kathleen Talaro at Pasadena City College, California; and Christopher Woolverton at Kent State University, Ohio.