2nd ASM Conference on Dimorphic Fungal Pathogens

March 22 - 26, 2010
Miami, Florida 

This conference was held concurrently with the 10th ASM Conference on Candida and Candidiasis 

Conference Scope:
In recent years, major technical advances have revolutionized the molecular analysis of the systemic dimorphic fungi.  These pathogens are ubiquitous soil fungi that infect healthy and immunocompromised individuals who live in endemic areas.  These fungi collectively comprise a significant threat to human health. With the advent of mutagenesis technology, genome sequence, whole genome expression profiling, proteomics, and other advances, the ability to probe the biology of these fascinating organisms has reached a new level of molecular sophistication.  This meeting will cover numerous topics including morphogenesis, pathogenesis, molecular cell biology, host response, genomics, proteomics, and fungal evolution. Of special note is the “Sequence workshop/community tool-building session”, where where the community and a panel of experts will brainstorm about database tools for the dimorphic fungal pathogens.

Session Topics:
Regulation of Morphogenesis

Pathogenesis and Virulence Strategies

Host response to Infection
Molecular Cell Biology of Dimorphic Fungi
Clinical Diagnosis and Treatment

Functional Genomics and Proteomics

Sequence Workshop/Community Tool-Building

Fungal Evolution and Selection

Program Committee:
Anita Sil
University of California
San Francisco, California (USA)

Juan McEwen
Cellular and Immunogenetics Group, Corporación para Investigaciones
Biológicas (Colombia)

Chad A. Rappleye
Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio (USA)

Program Advisory Committee:
William E. Goldman
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC (USA)

Bruce S. Klein
University of Wisconsin
Madison, Wisconsin (USA)

Josh Nosanchuk
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Bronx, New York (USA)

Alex Andrianopolous
University of Melbourne
Parkville, Victoria (Australia)

John Taylor
University of California
Berkeley, CA (USA)

Finance Committee:
Josh Nosanchuk
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Bronx, New York (USA)

Joseph Wheat
MiraVista Diagnostics
Indianapolis, Indiana (USA)

Carol A. Kauffman
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan (USA)